North and South - Variant of SGC 2011

Additional information

North and South is defined as a variant of SGC. The definition of the North is the one used by the Conference Board of Canada's Centre for the North, based on the Northern Development Ministers Forum definition. In this definition, the North is broadly defined as the three territories and the northern extent of Newfoundland and Labrador, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia. North is based on provincially determined definitions that generally reflect administrative regions.

This variant has been developed for the analysis of justice statistics. It is available to other program areas at Statistics Canada should it meet their needs, but there is no requirement for it to be used outside of the Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics.

Date modified: