Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2006

Status: This standard was replaced by the 'Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2011' as of May 16, 2011.

The Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) is Statistics Canada's official classification of geographic areas in Canada. The SGC provides unique numeric codes for three types of geographic areas: provinces and territories, census divisions (counties, regional municipalities), and census subdivisions (municipalities). The three geographic areas are hierarchically related; a seven-digit code is used to show this relationship. In addition to the SGC units, metropolitan areas with their component census subdivisions and economic regions with their component census divisions are included.

Classification structure

Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2006 - Classification structure
Code Province or territory Abbreviation Alpha code Map
10Newfoundland and Labrador Newfoundland and LabradorNote 1 N.L. NL PDF
11Prince Edward Island Prince Edward Island P.E.I. PE PDF
12Nova Scotia Nova Scotia N.S. NS PDF
13New Brunswick New Brunswick N.B. NB PDF
24Quebec Quebec Que. QC PDF
35Ontario Ontario Ont. ON PDF
46Manitoba Manitoba Man. MB PDF
47Saskatchewan Saskatchewan Sask. SK PDF
48Alberta Alberta Alta. AB PDF
59British Columbia British Columbia B.C. BC PDF
60Yukon Territory (Yukon since Oct. 2008) Yukon Territory (Yukon since Oct. 2008) Y.T. YT PDF
61Northwest Territories Northwest Territories N.W.T. NT PDF
62Nunavut Nunavut Nvt. NU PDF


Note 1

On October 21, 2002, the alpha code for the province of Newfoundland and Labrador changed from NF to NL. In addition, the English abbreviation for Newfoundland and Labrador, which was provisional in the SGC 2001 changed from Nfld.Lab. to N.L..

Return to note 1 referrer

Date modified: