Designated place types by province and territory, 2016 Census

Note: There are no designated places for Prince Edward Island, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut for the 2016 Census.

Classification structure

Designated place types by province and territory, 2016 Census - Classification structure
Code Designated place type Province/territory
1 CFA Class IV area Nova Scotia
2 DMU Dissolved municipality Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta
3 DPL Designated place Newfoundland and Labrador
4 IRI Indian reserve / Réserve indienne British Columbia
5 IST Island trust British Columbia
6 LNC Localité non constituée Quebec
7 LSB Local service board Ontario
8 LSD Local service district/District de services locaux New Brunswick
9 LUD Local urban district Manitoba
10 MDI Municipalité dissoute Quebec
11 MDP Municipal defined places Ontario
12 MET Métis settlement Alberta
13 NCM Northern community Manitoba
14 NVL Nisga'a village British Columbia
15 NS Northern settlement Saskatchewan
16 OHM Organized hamlet Saskatchewan
17 RPC Retired population centre / Centre de population retiré Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario, Saskatchewan, British Columbia
18 SE Aboriginal settlement Yukon
19 UNP Unincorporated place Alberta, British Columbia
20 UUC Unincorporated urban centre Manitoba
Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified: