Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 1996

Status: This standard was replaced by the 'Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2001' as of March 19, 2002.

The Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) is Statistics Canada's official classification of geographic areas in Canada. The SGC provides unique numeric codes for three types of geographic areas: provinces and territories, census divisions (counties, regional municipalities), and census subdivisions (municipalities). The three geographic areas are hierarchically related; a seven-digit code is used to show this relationship. In addition the two other areas, Metropolitan Areas and Economic Regions are recognized as standard geographic areas in the SGC.

Classification structure

Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 1996 - Classification structure
Code Province and territory Abbreviation Alpha code Map
10Newfoundland Newfoundland Nfld. NF PDF
11Prince Edward Island Prince Edward Island P.E.I. PE PDF
12Nova Scotia Nova Scotia N.S. NS PDF
13New Brunswick New Brunswick N.B. NB PDF
24Quebec Quebec Que. QC PDF
35Ontario Ontario Ont. ON PDF
46Manitoba Manitoba Man. MB PDF
47Saskatchewan Saskatchewan Sask. SK PDF
48Alberta Alberta Alta. AB PDF
59British Columbia British Columbia B.C. BC PDF
60Yukon Territory Yukon Territory Y.T. YT PDF
61Northwest Territories Northwest Territories N.W.T. NT PDF
Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified: