Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2021


Statistics Canada's Trust Centre: Learn how Statistics Canada keeps your data safe and protects your privacy.

The standard classification version of the SGC 2021 provides standard names and codes for the geographical regions of Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions (counties, regional municipalities) and census subdivisions (municipalities).

The names and codes for census metropolitan areas, census agglomerations, economic regions, North and South, census agricultural regions and census consolidated subdivisions are shown in the variants of SGC 2021. The first use of the standard version of SGC 2021 and its variants was in the 2021 Census.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified: