Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2011


Statistics Canada's Trust Centre: Learn how Statistics Canada keeps your data safe and protects your privacy.

Status: This standard was replaced by the 'Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2016' as of May 16, 2016.

The standard classification version of the SGC 2011 provides standard names and codes for the geographical regions of Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions (counties, regional municipalities) and census subdivisions (municipalities).

The names and codes for census metropolitan areas, census agglomerations and economic regions are shown in the variants of SGC 2011. The first use of the standard version of SGC 2011 and its variants was in the 2011 National Household Survey.

Classification structure

Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2011 - Classification structure
Code Geographical region of Canada Map
1Atlantic Atlantic HTML | PDF
2Quebec Quebec HTML | PDF
3Ontario Ontario HTML | PDF
4Prairies Prairies HTML | PDF
5British Columbia British Columbia HTML | PDF
6Territories Territories HTML | PDF
Date modified: