Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2016

Status: This standard was approved as a departmental standard on May 16, 2016.

The standard classification version of the SGC 2016 provides standard names and codes for the geographical regions of Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions (counties, regional municipalities) and census subdivisions (municipalities).

The names and codes for census metropolitan areas, census agglomerations, economic regions, census agricultural regions and census consolidated subdivisions are shown in the variants of SGC 2016. The first use of the standard version of SGC 2016 and its variants was in the 2016 Census.

Classification structure

Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2016 - Classification structure
Code Geographical region of Canada Map
1Atlantic Atlantic HTML | PDF
2Quebec Quebec HTML | PDF
3Ontario Ontario HTML | PDF
4Prairies Prairies HTML | PDF
5British Columbia British Columbia HTML | PDF
6Territories Territories HTML | PDF
Date modified: