Accessing CHMS Information Online

The Canadian Health Measures Survey (CHMS) is an innovative survey collecting not only self-reported health information but also direct physical measurements such as height, weight, blood and urine, and environmental measures such as indoor air and tap water samples. The survey takes a snapshot of the health of Canadians on concerns such as diabetes, obesity, high blood pressure, heart and lung disease, infectious diseases, nutritional status and exposure to contaminants in the environment. The initial CHMS release in 2010 marked the first data from a comprehensive, nationally representative, direct physical health measures survey in almost 30 years.

CHMS Data Collection and Dissemination
Table summary
This table displays the results of CHMS Data Collection and Dissemination. The information is grouped by Cycle (appearing as row headers), Collection, Dissemination Dates, Number of Respondents and Age Group (appearing as column headers).
Cycle Collection Dissemination Dates Number of Respondents Age Group
1 2007-2009 2010: Jan. 13, Feb. 17, Mar. 23, May 19, Aug. 16, Nov. 23
2011: Jan. 19, Mar. 2, Apr. 1, Aug. 17, Sept. 28
2012: Feb. 15, Apr. 18, May 16, June 20, Oct. 17
2014: Mar. 19
5,604 6-79
2 2009-2011 2012: Sept. 20, Oct. 29, Nov. 21, Nov. 29
2013: Jan. 10, Apr. 17, May 15
6,395 3-79
3 2012-2013 2014: Oct. 29, Dec. 16
2015: Feb. 18, Apr. 15, July 15, Sept. 16, Oct 20, Nov 18
5,785 3-79
4 2014-2015 First dissemination in fall 2016 5,700 (estimated) 3-79
Multiple cycles Collection for the CHMS is ongoing. Data from two or more cycles can be combined to obtain a larger number of records to work with. The instructions document and separate weights should be used.

Canadian Health Measures Survey website
Provides general information about the survey, including collection dates and locations for the current cycle, collection methods, information for survey participants, and topics covered in the survey. Information about the biobank and how to access its samples is also provided here.

Health in Canada website
Provides information on health-related publications (Health Fact Sheets, Health at a Glance, Health Reports), recent releases of data, and information on how to access data.

The Daily
Another way to find the different CHMS analytical text and products released at a given time is to select a past issues date at the link above (use the dissemination dates in table above). 

Definitions, Data Sources and Methods
Provides metadata information that will assist in interpreting Statistics Canada’s published data. A CHMS bibliography of products released with links and a list of other CHMS documents available is also provided.

Accessing CHMS Data Files (not applicable to share partners)

Statistics Canada’s Research Data Centres (RDC) Program

RDCs provide researchers with access, in a secure university setting, to microdata from population and household surveys. The centers are staffed by Statistics Canada employees. They are operated under the provisions of the Statistics Act in accordance with all the confidentiality rules and are accessible only to researchers with approved projects who have been sworn in under the Statistics Act as 'deemed employees.'

For more information on the CHMS, contact Statistics Canada (toll-free 1-800-263-1136; infostats@statcan.gc.ca).

Date modified:

Comment accéder à l’information de l’ECMS en ligne

L’Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé (ECMS) est une enquête novatrice qui permet non seulement de recueillir des renseignements autodéclarés portant sur la santé, mais aussi d’obtenir des mesures physiques directes, telles que la taille, le poids et les résultats d’analyses de sang et d’urine, et d’effectuer des mesures environnementales, par exemple sur des échantillons d’air intérieur et d’eau du robinet. L’enquête produit un portrait de la santé de la population canadienne couvrant un large éventail de préoccupations, dont le diabète, l’obésité, l’hypertension, la maladie cardiovasculaire et pulmonaire, les maladies infectieuses, l’état nutritionnel et l’exposition aux contaminants présents dans l’environnement. Les données de l’ECMS diffusées en 2010 sont les premières depuis près de 30 ans provenant d’une enquête détaillée, représentative de la population nationale et fournissant des mesures physiques directes de la santé.

Collecte et diffusion des données de l’ECMS
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Collecte et diffusion des données de l’ECMS. Les données sont présentées selon Cycle (titres de rangée) et Collecte, Dates de diffusion, Nombre de répondants et Groupe
d’âge
(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Cycle Collecte Dates de diffusion Nombre de répondants Groupe
d’âge
1 2007 à 2009 2010 : 13 janv., 17 févr., 23 mars, 19 mai, 16 août, 23 nov.
2011 : 19 janv., 2 mars, 1er avril, 17 août, 28 sept.
2012 : 15 févr., 18 avril, 16 mai, 20 juin, 17 oct.
2014 : 19 mars
5 604 6 à 79
2 2009 à 2011 2012 : 20 sept., 29 oct., 21 nov., 29 nov.
2013 : 10 janv., 17 avril, 15 mai
6 395 3 à 79
3 2012 à 2013 2014 : 29 oct., 16 déc.
2015 : 18 févr., 15 avril, 15 juillet, 16 sept, 20 oct, 18 nov.
5 785 3 à 79
4 2014 à 2015 Première diffusion à l’automne 2016 5 700
(estimé)
3 à 79
cycle multiples La collecte pour l’ECMS est continue. Les données de deux ou plusieurs cycles peuvent être combinées afin d’obtenir un plus grand échantillon. Le document d’instruction et les fichiers de pondération séparés devraient être utilisés.

Site Web de l’Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé
Contient l’information générale sur l’enquête, y compris les dates et les lieux de la collecte pour le cycle actuel, les méthodes de collecte, de l’information pour les participants au sondage, ainsi que les sujets abordés par l’enquête. L’information sur la biobanque et la façon dont on peut accéder aux échantillons est aussi disponible ici.

Site Web de la Santé au Canada
Contient de l’information sur les publications liées à la santé (Feuillets d’information sur la santé, Coup d’œil sur la santé, Rapports sur la santé), les diffusions de données récentes, et la façon d’accéder aux données. 

Le Quotidien
Une autre façon de trouver les divers produits et textes analytiques de l’ECMS diffusés à un moment donné consiste à sélectionner la date d’un ancien numéro au lien qui précède (consulter les dates de diffusion dans le tableau qui figure plus haut). 

Définitions, sources de données et méthodes
Contient de l’information qui aidera à interpréter les données publiées par Statistique Canada.
Une bibliographie ECMS des produits diffusés avec liens ainsi qu’une liste d’autres documents de l’ECMS disponibles est également fournie.    

Comment accéder aux fichiers de données de l’ECMS (ne s’applique pas aux partenaires du partage)

Le Programme des Centres de données de recherche de Statistique Canada

Les Centres de données de recherche CDR permettent aux chercheurs d'accéder aux microdonnées d'enquêtes sur les ménages et sur la population. Les centres comptent des employés de Statistique Canada. Ils sont exploités en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur la statistique et sont administrés conformément à toutes les règles de confidentialité. Ils ne sont accessibles qu'aux chercheurs dont les propositions ont été approuvées et qui ont prêté serment en qualité de personnes réputées être employées de Statistique Canada.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l’ECMS, communiquez avec Statistique Canada au 1-800-263-1136 (infostats@statcan.gc.ca).

Date de modification :