Work Absence Rates: Data quality, concepts and methodology

Skip to text

Data Source
What is absenteeism?
Reasons for absence
How absences are measured
Frequently asked questions
Data quality

Text begins

Data source

This publication uses data from Statistics Canada's Labour Force Survey (LFS). The LFS is a monthly household survey that collects data on the labour market activities of working-age Canadians, namely, those 15 years of age or over. Excluded from the survey are persons living in Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories, persons living on Indian reserves, inmates of institutions, and full-time members of the Canadian Armed Forces.

The majority of LFS statistics refer to a particular week each month (the reference week). The data in this publication are based on the average of the 12 reference weeks of the year in question. Annual average data eliminate the effects of seasonal movements and, being based on larger samples, considerably reduce sampling error.

The statistical objective of the LFS from its inception has been to break the working-age population into three mutually exclusive classifications: employed, unemployed, and not in the labour force, and to provide descriptive and explanatory data on each category.

The 1997 LFS redesign allowed, for the first time, the exclusion of maternity leave, a major factor in time lost by women for personal or family responsibilities. The LFS enhancements also added more classification variables. It is now possible, for example, to estimate work absence rates by workplace size, union coverage and job permanency. (Note that any changes in a questionnaire may yield data that differ slightly from those of earlier years.)

Tables 1 to 3 provide absence rates for 2011 by a variety of factors. Tables 4 to 10 provide time series for the period 2001 to 2011. Maternity leave is excluded from the personal or family responsibilities code. However, men on paid paternity (in Quebec only) and parental leave are included in the calculation until 2006.

All estimates have been adjusted to reflect the 2006 Census population data. Industry estimates have been reclassified from the 2002 to the 2007 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). Occupation estimates have been reclassified from the 2001 to the 2006 National Occupational Classification for Statistics (NOC-S). Geography boundaries have been updated from the 2001 to the 2006 Standard Geographical Classification (SGC), which mainly affects boundaries of census metropolitan areas and census agglomerations. There was also an update of seasonal adjustment. For an overview of the effect of these changes on the estimates, see "The 2011 revisions of the Labour Force Survey (LFS)," which is available as part of the Improvements to the Labour Force Survey series (71F0031X, free).

For a fuller description of the LFS objectives, coverage, sampling techniques, concepts, definitions and data quality, see the Labour Force Historical Review (Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 71F0004XCB) or the Guide to the Labour Force Survey.

What is absenteeism?

There are many kinds of work absence. Some, like annual vacation, are generally considered beneficial for both the organization and the employee. Since they are usually scheduled, their effect on the organization can be fairly easily absorbed; the same can be said of statutory holidays. Other absences, like those caused by illness and family-related demands, are generally unavoidable, as are those due to inclement weather.

Absenteeism, a term used to refer to absences that are avoidable, habitual and unscheduled, is a source of irritation to employers and co-workers. Such absences are disruptive to proper work scheduling and output, and costly to organizations and the economy as a whole. Although absenteeism is widely acknowledged to be a problem, it is not easy to quantify. The dividing line between avoidable and unavoidable is difficult to draw, and absenteeism generally masquerades as legitimate absence. The Labour Force Survey (LFS) can provide measures of time lost because of personal reasons—that is, illness or disability, and personal or family responsibilities. However, within these categories, it is impossible to determine if an absence is avoidable or unscheduled. LFS data on absences for personal reasons can, however, be analyzed to identify patterns or trends that indicate the effect of absenteeism.

This publication presents absence rates due to personal reasons, which accounted for 28% of all time lost by full-time paid workers each week in 2011. Vacations, which accounted for 40% of total time away from work, are not counted in this report, nor are statutory holidays, which represented 12%. Maternity leave accounted for 12% and other reasons, 7%.

Reasons for absence

The LFS redesign in 1997 resulted in changes being made to the reasons for being away all or part of the week. This publication provides data incorporating both the pre- and post-redesign reasons. In this way, new data can be examined and a time series can be maintained for comparison purposes.

Before the 1997 redesign, the LFS grouped the reasons as follows:

illness or disability
personal or family responsibilities
weather (part-week absence)
labour dispute
vacation
holiday (part-week absence)

working short time (part-week absence)
laid off during week
new job started during week
seasonal business (full-week absence)
other
 

The first two reasons are referred to as absences from work for personal reasons. Persons absent because of illness or disability include those who missed work because of medical or dental appointments or other temporary health-related absences. Absence for personal or family responsibilities includes taking care of children, attending funerals, appearing in court, serving on a jury, and taking care of a sick family member. Longer absences, such as maternity leave, are also included.

After the redesign, reasons were changed to read:

own illness or disability
caring for own children
caring for elder relative (60 years or older)
maternity leave (women only)
other personal or family responsibilities
vacation
labour dispute (strike or lockout)

temporary layoff due to business conditions
holiday (legal or religious)
weather
job started or ended during week)
working short time (because of material shortages, plant maintenance or repair, for instance)
other

Illness or disability remain unchanged, whereas personal or family responsibilities now consist of caring for own children, caring for elder relative, and other personal or family responsibilities. Maternity leave is excluded from the estimates.

The elimination of maternity leave has led to an overall decline in women's work absence estimates for personal or family responsibilities.

How absences are measured

This publication uses three measures of absence.

The incidence of absence is the percentage of full-time employees reporting some absence in the reference week. In calculating incidence, the length of work absence-whether an hour, a day, or a full week-is irrelevant.

The inactivity rate shows hours lost as a proportion of the usual weekly hours of all full-time employees. It takes into account both the incidence and length of absence.

Days lost per worker are calculated by multiplying the inactivity rate by the estimated number of working days in the year (250).

The estimated number of working days in the year (250) is in line with other research in the field. This number assumes that the typical full-time employee works a 5-day week (the 1995 Survey of Work Arrangements showed that 75% of full-timers worked a 5-day week) and is entitled to all statutory holidays (around 10 days a year). Thus, the potential annual labour supply of a typical worker would be 52 weeks multiplied by 5, less 10 statutory holidays, or 250 days. This allows the days lost per worker in a year to be calculated.

Varying the number of working days would slightly alter the number of person-days lost in the year, but not the thrust of the findings as they relate to different industries, demographic groups, and so forth.

Frequently asked questions

Q.    What is the data source for these absence rates?

A.    The data are based on annual averages from the Labour Force Survey (see Data source), not a special survey of absenteeism.

Although the LFS was not specifically designed to capture the incidence and level of absence from work, it is the best source of data on the subject. Use of a household survey to provide such data is not unique to Canada. All countries belonging to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) have surveys like the LFS that provide data on persons 'with a job but not at work.' Many of these surveys look at the reasons for the difference between usual and actual hours worked (that is, number of hours absent) in the reference week; these data can be used to generate work absence rates. Unfortunately, differences in the classification of reasons for work absence, and in periodicity, etc., have made international comparisons difficult. Both the OECD and the International Labour Office are currently making efforts to promote the gathering and publication of comparable data.

Most firms and institutions in Canada keep records on worker absences for administrative and accounting purposes. Again, differences in coverage, periodicity and definitions limit comparability or across-industry aggregation of the data into meaningful national rates by sex, age, industry, occupation, and so forth.

Q.    Is maternity leave included in the absence data?

A.    As of 1997, women with a full-time job but on maternity leave are excluded from the data. Prior to the 1997 redesign, this was not possible. Maternity leave is not considered a reason for absenteeism since it is often scheduled and thus entails minimal disruption at the workplace.

Q.    How are long-term disability absences treated?

A.    The LFS does not distinguish between long- and short-term disability absences. Those who are absent but consider themselves 'employed,' and who receive full or partial pay from their employer, are included in the illness or disability category, irrespective of length of absence. In 2001, an average of 16,000 employees each week had been absent from work for over a year because of illness or disability. Their exclusion would have had a minimal effect on the overall findings.

Q.    Are absences resulting from work-related injuries or illness included in the data?

A.    The LFS does not ask if an illness or disability is work-related. Thus, all such absences are included in the data in this publication.

Q.    Do the data include both paid and unpaid absences?

A.    Yes, both are included. However, only persons on full-week absences are asked whether they received any wages from their employer for any time lost from work. Those on part-week absences are not asked this question.

Q.    Does the LFS measure the effect of stress?

A.    Not directly. While stress may be an important factor in explaining work absences, this reason and others, such as worker boredom (with repetitive work, for example), employer-employee relations, and poor working conditions-all of which affect work attendance-are not listed separately in the LFS response categories. Answers to such questions are often difficult to substantiate.

Data quality

The Labour Force Survey produces estimates based on information drawn from a sample survey of households. Somewhat different estimates might have been obtained if a complete census had been taken using the same questionnaire, interviewers, supervisors, processing methods, and so forth. The difference between the estimates obtained from the sample and a complete count taken under similar conditions is called the sampling error of the estimate.

While the sampling error is not known, it can be estimated from the sample data. One measure used is the coefficient of variation (CV), which is the standard deviation expressed as a percentage of the estimate. Since it can be very time-consuming and expensive to compute CVs for a large number of estimates from a complex survey such as the LFS, an indirect measure of reliability may be used. Generally speaking, the larger the estimate, the smaller its CV. Analysis has shown that LFS estimates of less than 1,500 typically have high CVs, making them unreliable.

In this publication, absence rates at the national level are considered reliable enough if they are derived from estimates of at least 1,500. For example, in 1997 the estimated number of male full-time employees aged 65 and over was 32,700. Since the estimated number of these men with absences was below the reliability threshold of 1,500, no rates are shown. Estimates not reliable enough to be published are shown as 'F'.

For provinces and regions, reliability thresholds are as follows:

Text table 1
Reliability thresholds

Reliability thresholds
Table summary
This table displays the results of Reliability thresholds. The information is grouped by Provinces and regions (appearing as row headers), Number (appearing as column headers).
Provinces and regions Number
Atlantic provinces 500
Newfoundland and Labrador 500
Prince Edward Island 200
Nova Scotia 500
New Brunswick 500
Quebec 1,500
Ontario 1,500
Prairies 500
Manitoba 500
Saskatchewan 500
Alberta 1,500
British Columbia 1,500

Errors that are not related to sampling may occur at almost any phase of a survey operation. Interviewers may misunderstand instructions, respondents may make errors in answering questions, answers may be incorrectly entered on the questionnaire, or errors may be introduced in the processing and tabulation of the data. These are all examples of non-sampling errors.

Over a large number of observations, randomly occurring errors will have little effect on estimates derived from the survey. However, errors occurring systematically will contribute to biases in the survey estimates. Considerable time and effort was taken to reduce non-sampling errors in the survey. Quality-assurance measures, implemented at each stage of the data collection and processing cycle, included the use of well-trained and highly skilled interviewers, the observation of interviewers to detect problems of questionnaire design or misunderstanding of instructions, the use of procedures to ensure that data-capture errors were minimized, and the provision of coding and edit quality checks to verify the processing logic.

Date modified:

Taux d’absence du travail : qualité des données, concepts et méthodologie

Source des données
Qu'est-ce que l'absentéisme?
Motifs des absences
Comment les absences sont mesurées
Questions fréquemment posées
Qualité des données

Début du texte

Source des données

L'Enquête sur la population active (EPA) de Statistique Canada constitue la source des données de la présente publication. L'EPA est une enquête mensuelle menée auprès des ménages dans le but de recueillir des données sur l'activité des Canadiens en âge de travailler, c'est-à-dire âgés de 15 ans et plus. Sont exclus de l'enquête les personnes qui vivent au Yukon, au Nunavut et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, les personnes vivant dans les réserves indiennes, les pensionnaires d'établissements et les membres à temps plein des Forces armées canadiennes.

La plupart des statistiques de l'EPA renvoient à une semaine particulière d'un mois donné (semaine de référence). Les données de cette publication sont fondées sur la moyenne des 12 semaines de référence de l'année observée. Les moyennes annuelles suppriment les effets des mouvements saisonniers et, comme elles sont fondées sur de vastes échantillons, réduisent considérablement le taux d'erreur due à l'échantillonnage.

Depuis sa création, l'EPA a eu pour objectifs statistiques de répartir la population en âge de travailler en trois catégories mutuellement exclusives — les personnes occupées, les chômeurs et les inactifs — et de fournir des données descriptives et explicatives sur chacune de ces catégories.

Le remaniement de l'EPA en 1997 a, pour la première fois, permis d'exclure les congés de maternité, un facteur important du temps perdu par les femmes en raison d'obligations personnelles ou familiales. Ce remaniement a aussi permis de cerner différentes variables. Il est maintenant possible, par exemple, d'estimer le taux d'absence selon la taille de l'établissement, l'adhésion syndicale et la permanence de l'emploi. (Notez que tout changement apporté à un questionnaire peut entraîner des données légèrement différentes de celles des années antérieures.)

Les tableaux 1, 2 et 3 donnent les taux d'absence pour 2011 selon plusieurs facteurs. Les tableaux 4 à 10 donnent les séries chronologiques pour la période allant de 2001 à 2011. Les congés de maternité sont exclus des absences de la catégorie « obligations personnelles ou familiales ». Par contre, les hommes ayant pris des congés de paternité (au Québec seulement) et des congés parentaux rémunérés sont inclus dans le calcul des taux d'absence jusqu'à 2006.

Toutes les estimations ont été ajustées en fonction des données de la population du Recensement de 2006. Les estimations ventilées par industrie ont été reclassées en fonction du Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) de 2007, qui remplace le SCIAN de 2002. Les estimations par profession ont été reclassées en fonction de la Classification nationale des professions pour les statistiques (CNP-S) de 2006, qui remplace la CNP-S de 2001. Les limites géographiques ont été mises à jour sur la base de la Classification géographique type (CGT) de 2006, qui remplace la CGT de 2001. Cette mise à jour touche principalement les limites de régions métropolitaines de recensement et d'agglomérations de recensement. La désaisonnalisation a également été mise à jour. Pour un aperçu de l'effet de ces modifications sur les estimations, veuillez consulter le document intitulé « Les révisions en 2011 de l'Enquête sur la population active », accessible dans la série Améliorations apportées à l'Enquête sur la population active (71F0031X, gratuite).

Pour obtenir une description plus détaillée des objectifs, du champ d'observation, des techniques d'échantillonnage, des concepts, des définitions et de la qualité des données de l'EPA, voir la Revue chronologique de la population active (no 71F0004X CB au catalogue de Statistique Canada) ou le Guide de l'Enquête sur la population active dans le site de Statistique Canada.

Qu'est-ce que l'absentéisme?

Il existe plusieurs genres d'absence du travail. Certaines absences, telles que les vacances annuelles, sont généralement considérées comme étant bénéfiques, tant pour l'organisation que pour l'employé. Puisqu'elles sont habituellement prévues, leur incidence sur l'organisation peut être absorbée assez facilement; on peut en dire autant des jours fériés. D'autres absences, comme celles attribuables à la maladie et aux obligations familiales, sont généralement inévitables, tout comme celles causées par le mauvais temps.

L'« absentéisme » — un terme utilisé pour décrire les absences évitables, habituelles ou imprévues — constitue une source d'irritation pour les employeurs et les collègues de travail. Ces absences perturbent le calendrier de travail et la production, et entraînent des coûts pour l'organisation et l'économie dans son ensemble. Bien que l'absentéisme soit généralement considéré comme un problème, il n'est pas un phénomène facile à quantifier. La ligne de démarcation entre les absences évitables et inévitables est difficile à tracer, et l'absentéisme est souvent déguisé en absence légitime. L'Enquête sur la population active (EPA) permet de quantifier le temps perdu pour des « raisons personnelles », c'est-à-dire la maladie ou l'incapacité, et les obligations personnelles ou familiales. Cependant, au sein de ces catégories, il est impossible de déterminer si une absence est évitable ou imprévue. Toutefois, on peut analyser les données de l'EPA sur les absences pour motifs personnels afin de cerner les comportements ou les tendances qui illustrent l'incidence de l'absentéisme.

La présente publication donne les taux d'absences pour des raisons personnelles, qui ont représenté 28 % du temps de travail perdu chaque semaine en 2011 par les travailleurs rémunérés à temps plein. Les vacances, qui représentaient 40 % du temps d'absence du travail, ne sont pas comptabilisées dans ce rapport, ni les jours fériés, qui représentaient 12 % du total des absences. Les congés de maternité comptaient pour 12 % des absences, et les autres raisons, 7 %.

Motifs des absences

Le remaniement de l'EPA en 1997 a donné lieu à des modifications des motifs à l'origine des absences pour toute la semaine ou pour une partie de celle-ci. La présente publication comporte à la fois des données qui ont trait aux motifs avant et après le remaniement. On peut ainsi examiner les nouvelles données et maintenir une série chronologique permettant de faire des comparaisons.

Avant le remaniement de 1997, l'EPA considérait les motifs suivants à l'appui des absences :

maladie ou incapacité
obligations personnelles ou familiales
mauvais temps (absence pour une partie de la semaine)
conflit de travail
vacances
jour férié (absence pour une partie de la semaine)

travail à temps réduit (absence pour une partie de la semaine)
mise à pied au cours de la semaine
début d'un nouvel emploi au cours de la semaine
entreprise saisonnière (absence pour toute la semaine)
autre
 

Les deux premiers motifs sont considérés comme étant d'ordre personnel. Les personnes qui se sont absentées pour cause de maladie ou d'incapacité comprennent celles qui avaient un rendez-vous chez le médecin ou chez le dentiste ou qui s'étaient absentées temporairement pour un autre motif lié à la santé. Les absences pour des motifs d'ordre personnel ou familial comprennent les absences pour prendre soin des enfants, pour assister à des funérailles, pour comparaître devant un tribunal, pour faire partie d'un jury et pour prendre soin d'un membre malade de la famille. Sont également incluses les absences prolongées comme les congés de maternité.

L'EPA remaniée, dont on utilise ici les estimations de 1997, considère les motifs d'absence du travail suivants : 

maladie ou incapacité de l'enquêté(e)
soins à donner à ses enfants
soins à donner à un parent âgé (60 ans ou plus)
congé de maternité (femmes seulement)
autres obligations personnelles ou familiales
vacances
conflit de travail (grève ou lock-out)

mise à pied temporaire due à la conjoncture économique
jour férié (civil ou religieux)
mauvais temps
début ou fin d'emploi durant la semaine
travail à temps réduit (en raison d'un manque d'équipement, de l'entretien ou de la réparation de l'usine, par exemple)
autre

Les motifs liés à la maladie ou à l'incapacité sont les mêmes, tandis que les obligations personnelles ou familiales comprennent maintenant le soin des enfants, le soin d'un parent âgé et les autres obligations personnelles ou familiales. Le congé de maternité est exclu des estimations.

L'exclusion du congé de maternité dans les statistiques a entraîné chez les femmes une baisse générale des estimations relatives aux absences pour cause d'obligations personnelles ou familiales.

Comment les absences sont mesurées

Trois mesures d'absence sont utilisées dans la présente publication.

La fréquence des absences est le pourcentage d'employés à temps plein qui s'absentent au cours de la semaine de référence. Dans le calcul de la fréquence, on ne tient pas compte de la durée de l'absence - qu'il s'agisse d'une heure, d'une journée ou d'une semaine complète.

Le taux d'inactivité est la proportion d'heures perdues par rapport au nombre total d'heures hebdomadaires habituellement travaillées par tous les employés à temps plein. On tient compte à la fois de la fréquence et de la durée de l'absence.

On calcule le nombre de jours perdus par travailleur en multipliant le taux d'inactivité par le nombre estimatif de jours ouvrables dans l'année (250).

Conformément à d'autres études menées sur le sujet, on a estimé à 250 le nombre de jours ouvrables dans l'année. Ce nombre repose sur l'hypothèse selon laquelle le travailleur à temps plein typique travaille 5 jours par semaine - l'Enquête sur les horaires et les conditions de travail menée en 1995 révèle en effet que 75 % des travailleurs à temps plein avaient un horaire de travail de cinq jours par semaine - et a droit à tous les congés fériés (environ 10 jours par année). Ainsi, le potentiel annuel de travail d'un travailleur typique est calculé en multipliant 52 semaines par 5 et en soustrayant 10 congés fériés, ce qui donne 250 jours. Cela permet en outre de calculer le nombre de jours perdus par travailleur dans l'année.

Le fait de varier le nombre de jours ouvrables a pour effet de modifier légèrement le nombre de jours-personnes perdus dans l'année, sans toutefois modifier l'essence même des conclusions, qui ont trait à diverses industries, à divers groupes démographiques, etc.

Questions fréquemment posées

Q.    Quelle est la source des données de cette publication?

R.    Les données sont fondées sur des moyennes annuelles tirées de l'Enquête sur la population active (EPA) (voir la section Source des données) et non sur les résultats d'une enquête spéciale sur les absences du travail.

Bien que l'EPA ne vise pas précisément à mesurer la fréquence et le niveau des absences du travail, elle constitue la meilleure source de données sur le sujet. Le Canada n'est pas le seul pays à utiliser une enquête-ménage pour obtenir de telles données. Tous les pays membres de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) mènent des enquêtes auprès des ménages (comme l'EPA) qui permettent de recueillir des données sur les personnes « qui ont un emploi mais qui ne sont pas au travail ». Nombre de ces enquêtes expliquent la différence entre les heures habituellement travaillées et les heures effectivement travaillées (c'est-à-dire le nombre d'heures perdues) au cours de la semaine de référence. Ces données peuvent servir au calcul du taux d'absence du travail. Malheureusement, les différences à l'égard des motifs d'absence, de la périodicité, etc. rendent difficile toute comparaison internationale de ces taux. L'OCDE et le Bureau international du travail collaborent actuellement au rassemblement de données comparables et à leur diffusion.

La plupart des sociétés et des institutions au Canada tiennent à jour, à des fins administratives et comptables, des dossiers sur les absences des travailleurs. Encore une fois, les différences à l'égard du champ d'observation, de la périodicité et des définitions ont pour effet de limiter le degré de comparabilité et le regroupement, pour l'ensemble des industries, des différentes données sous forme de taux nationaux significatifs selon le sexe, l'âge, l'industrie, la profession, etc.

Q.    Les données comprennent-elles les congés de maternité?

R.    Depuis 1997, les femmes occupant un emploi à temps plein mais en congé de maternité ne sont pas incluses dans ces données. Avant le remaniement de 1997, cela n'était pas possible. Le congé de maternité n'est pas considéré comme une cause d'absence du travail. Il est souvent prévu et occasionne ainsi un dérangement minimal dans le milieu de travail.

Q.    Comment traite-t-on les absences pour cause d'incapacité de longue durée?

R.    L'EPA ne fait pas de distinction entre l'absence pour cause d'incapacité de longue durée et celle de courte durée. Les travailleurs qui se considèrent comme « occupés », et qui reçoivent de leur employeur leur plein salaire ou une partie de celui-ci, sont compris dans la catégorie des absences pour cause de maladie ou d'incapacité, quelle que soit la durée de celles-ci. En 2001, le nombre d'employés qui étaient absents du travail depuis plus d'un an pour cause de maladie ou d'incapacité était, en moyenne, de 16 000 au cours d'une semaine normale. Leur exclusion aurait eu peu de répercussions sur les résultats d'ensemble.

Q.    Les données comprennent-elles les absences attribuables à des lésions ou à des maladies découlant d'un accident de travail?

R.    Dans l'EPA, on ne demande pas si la maladie ou l'incapacité du répondant sont liées à un accident de travail. Toutes les absences de ce genre sont incluses dans les données de la présente publication.

Q.    Les données comprennent-elles les congés payés et non payés?

R.    Oui, ces deux types de congé sont compris. Cependant, on ne demande qu'aux personnes absentes pendant toute la semaine si elles ont reçu une rémunération quelconque de leur employeur pendant qu'elles étaient absentes du travail, la question n'étant pas posée aux personnes absentes pendant une partie de la semaine.

Q.    L'EPA mesure-t-elle les effets du stress?

R.    Pas directement. Bien que le stress puisse être un facteur important qui expliquerait les absences du travail, ce motif et d'autres, comme un travail ennuyant (par exemple, un travail répétitif), de mauvaises relations entre l'employé et l'employeur et de mauvaises conditions de travail - qui tous influent sur l'assiduité au travail, ne sont pas énumérés séparément dans les catégories de réponses de l'EPA. Les réponses à ces questions sont souvent difficiles à vérifier.

Qualité des données

L'Enquête sur la population active permet de produire des estimations fondées sur les données tirées d'une enquête-échantillon menée auprès des ménages. On aurait pu obtenir des estimations légèrement différentes si l'on avait procédé à un recensement en faisant appel au même questionnaire et aux mêmes intervieweurs, superviseurs, méthodes de traitement, etc. L'écart entre les estimations découlant de l'échantillon et celles tirées d'un dénombrement complet effectué dans des conditions semblables est appelé erreur d'échantillonnage des estimations.

Bien que l'erreur d'échantillonnage ne soit pas connue, elle peut toutefois être estimée au moyen des données-échantillon. L'une des mesures utilisées pour ce faire s'appelle le coefficient de variation (CV), lequel constitue l'écart-type exprimé en pourcentage de l'estimation. Puisqu'il serait nettement trop long et trop onéreux de calculer les CV de toute une série d'estimations tirées d'une enquête aussi complexe que l'EPA, on peut avoir recours à une mesure de confiance indirecte. De façon générale, plus l'estimation est grande, plus le CV sera petit. L'analyse révèle que les estimations tirées de l'EPA qui sont inférieures à 1 500 ont systématiquement des CV élevés, ce qui par conséquent les rend moins fiables.

Dans la présente publication, on considère comme suffisamment fiables les taux d'absence nationaux tirés d'estimations atteignant au moins 1 500. Par exemple, en 1997, on estimait à 32 700 le nombre d'employés masculins à temps plein ayant 65 ans et plus. Cependant, si on considère parmi eux ceux qui étaient absents, on obtient une estimation inférieure au seuil de confiance de 1 500, ce qui explique dans ce cas l'absence de taux. Les estimations non suffisamment significatives pour être publiées sont indiquées au moyen d'un F.

Voici les seuils de confiance des différentes provinces et régions : 

Tableau explicative 1
Les seuils de confiance

Tableau explicative 1
Les seuils de confiance
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Les seuils de confiance. Les données sont présentées selon Provinces et régions (titres de rangée) et Nombres(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Provinces et régions Nombres
Atlantique 500
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 500
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 200
Nouvelle-Écosse 500
Nouveau-Brunswick 500
Québec 1 500
Ontario 1 500
Prairies 500
Manitoba 500
Saskatchewan 500
Alberta 1 500
Colombie-Britannique 1 500

Des erreurs qui ne se rapportent pas à l'échantillonnage peuvent se produire à presque toutes les phases d'une enquête. Il se peut que les intervieweurs comprennent mal les instructions, que les enquêtés fassent des erreurs en répondant aux questions, que des réponses soient mal inscrites sur les questionnaires et que des erreurs soient introduites lors du traitement et de la totalisation des données. Ces erreurs sont toutes des exemples d'erreurs non attribuables à l'échantillonnage.

Sur un grand nombre d'observations, les erreurs aléatoires auront peu d'effet sur les estimations tirées des données recueillies dans le cadre de l'enquête. Toutefois, les erreurs qui se produisent systématiquement contribueront à biaiser les estimations de l'enquête. On a consacré beaucoup de temps et d'efforts à réduire les erreurs non attribuables à l'échantillonnage dans l'enquête. Des mesures d'assurance de la qualité ont été appliquées à chaque étape du cycle de collecte et de traitement des données. Ces mesures comprenaient l'emploi d'intervieweurs très expérimentés, l'observation des intervieweurs afin de trouver les problèmes liés à la conception du questionnaire ou à la mauvaise interprétation des instructions, l'utilisation de procédures afin de s'assurer que les erreurs de saisie des données étaient minimisées et des vérifications de la qualité du codage et du contrôle afin de vérifier la logique du traitement.

Date de modification :