Legislative Influences

Changes in legislation and the resulting change in the offence classification creates discontinuity in the historical record of particular criminal offences. Legislative changes to assault, sexual assault, theft, arson, mischief, prostitution and youth crime must be considered when making comparisons over time. Some of the more significant changes are as follows:

Sexual Assault: Bill C-127 (1983):

Bill C-127 abolished the offences of rape, attempted rape and indecent assault and introduced a three-tiered structure for sexual assault offences. The Bill also eased the circumstances under which police could lay charges in incidents of sexual and non-sexual assault.

Young Offenders Act (1984):

With the proclamation of the YOA in April 1984, 12 years became the minimum age for which criminal charges could be laid. However, the maximum age continued to vary until April 1985, when the maximum age of 17 (up to the 18th birthday) was established in all provinces and territories. Youths, as defined in this publication, refer to those aged 12 to 17 (inclusive). This definition applies to the target group who fall under the delegation of the Young Offenders Act (YOA).

Traffic Offences:

Bill C-18 (1985): In December 1985, Bill C18 made major legislative changes with respect to certain traffic offences (all 700 series offences). It imposed more stringent sentences for dangerous driving and drinking and driving. It also facilitated the enforcement of impaired driving laws by authorizing police to take blood and/or breath samples under certain circumstances. As a result, data previous to 1985 for traffic offences are not comparable and have not been presented.

Property value limits:

Bill C-18 (1985) and Bill C-42 (1995): In 1985, Bill C-18 altered the property value limits from under and over $200 to under and over $1,000. This applies to offences such as theft, possession of stolen goods, mischief and fraud. As of February 1995, Bill C-42 revised the property value limits to under and over $5,000.

Alternative measures: Bill C-41 (1996):

Bill C-41 was proclaimed into law September 3, 1996. One of its highlights was the introduction of "alternative measures" for adults, which provided ways of dealing with disputes and minor offences outside the formal court proceedings.

Firearms: Bill C-68 (1997):

Bill C-68, proclaimed on January 1, 1997, requires that all firearm owners must obtain a Firearms License by January, 2001. This license replaces the Firearms Acquisition Certificate in use since 1977. Commencing October 1, 1998, each weapon must be registered within five years and a Registration Certificate will be issued. Bill C-68 also provides for tougher penalties for using a firearm while committing a crime.

Controlled Drugs and Substances Act: Bill C-8 (1997):

This new legislation came into force on May 14, 1997. The Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (CDSA) repealed and replaced the Narcotic Control Act (NCA) and parts of the Food and Drugs Act (FDA) in 1996. With this change in legislation, offences related to the possession, trafficking and importation of certain controlled or restricted drugs not identified in the earlier statutes are now (since 1997) included in other drugs category. Hence, comparisons with years prior to 1997 should be made with caution.

Dangerous Operation Evading Police:  Bill C-202 (2000):

Law C-202 came into effect March 30th, 2000.  This legislation modifies section 249 of the Criminal Code, thus creating new offences of dangerous operation of a motor vehicle when used for evading police.

Youth Criminal Justice Act: Bill C-7 (2003):

The extrajudicial measures encouraged by the Youth Criminal Justice Act, proclaimed on April 1, 2003, include taking no further action, informal police warnings, referrals to community programs, formal police cautions, Crown cautions, and extrajudicial sanctions programs. It is presumed that extrajudicial measures are adequate to hold accountable non-violent offenders who have not previously been found guilty in court.

Street Racing: Bill C-19 (2006):

Bill C-19, proclaimed on December 14, 2006, addresses the street-racing problem by making four amendments to the Criminal Code: "Street-racing" has been defined, five new street-racing offences have been added, for three of the new offences, it provides maximum prison terms longer than those currently provided for dangerous operation or criminal negligence in the operation of a motor vehicle, and it introduces mandatory driving prohibition orders for a minimum period of time, with the length of the prohibition increasing gradually for repeat offences.

Unauthorized Recording of a Movie: Bill C-59 (2007):

Bill C-59, proclaimed on June 22, 2007, addresses the illegal recording of movies in theatres by creating two offences in the criminal code: recording for personal use of a movie shown in a theatre – liable to imprisonment for not more than two years, and recording for commercial purposes of a movie shown in a theatre – liable to imprisonment for not more than five years.

Tackling Violent Crime: Bill C-2 (2008)

As a result of Bill C-2, which was proclaimed on February 28, 2008, the age of consent was raised from 14 to 16 for the following Criminal Code offences: sexual interference, invitation to sexual touching, sexual exploitation, bestiality and exposure to person under 14. For sexual assault levels 1 to 3, the age changes for complainant (formerly 14) to under the age of 16.

Impaired operation and failure to provide blood sample now includes the separation between alcohol and drugs (or combination of drugs). Fail/refuse to provide breath sample and failure to comply or refusal (drugs) will now have a maximum penalty of 25 years. 

New firearm offences will separate offences of breaking and entering by robbery to steal a firearm and to steal a firearm, which carry a maximum penalty of 25 years.

Tackling Violent Crime: Bill C-2 (2009)

As a result of Bill C-2, which was proclaimed on February 28, 2008, the UCR has also created a new code for sexual exploitation of a person with a disability.  As well, two new Firearm violations have been added: Robbery to steal a firearm, and Break and Enter to steal a firearm.

Act to amend the Criminal Code (organized crime and protection of justice system participants) Bill C-14 (2009)

Bill C-14 officially came into effect on October 2, 2009.  As a result, two new violation codes have been created:  Assaulting with a weapon or causing bodily harm to a peace officer, and aggravated assault to a peace officer.

In 2002, legislative changes were made to include the use of the Internet for the purpose of committing child pornography offences. As such, the percent change in this offence is calculated from 2003 to 2009.

Codifying Identity Theft: Bill S4 (2010)

Bill S-4 officially came into effect on January 8, 2010. As a result, two new violation codes were created: Identity Theft and Identity Fraud.

Trafficking in Person’s under the age of 18: Bill C-268 (2010)

Bill C-268 officially came into effect on June 29, 2010. As a result, a new section was added to the Criminal Code; Section 279.011(1). This section will be coded into the existing UCR code of Trafficking in Persons.

An Act to amend the Criminal Code (suicide bombings): Bill S-215 (2010)

Bill S-215 officially came into effect on December 15, 2010. This enactment amends the Criminal Code to clarify that suicide bombings fall within the definition “terrorist activity”. As such they should be included in UCR codes: Participate in Terrorist Activity, Facilitate Terrorist Activity, and Instruct/Carry Out Terrorist Activity.

Tackling Auto Theft and Trafficking in Property Obtained by Crime: Bill S-9 (2011)

Bill S-9 officially came into effect on April 29, 2011. As a result, a new UCR violation code for Motor Vehicle Theft was created, replacing the current UCR violations of Motor Vehicle Theft over $5,000 and Motor Vehicle Theft $5,000 and under.

Possession of Stolen Goods is now separated into two categories; Possession of Stolen Goods over $5,000 and Possession of Stolen Goods $5,000 and under.

Three new UCR violation codes were also created: Altering/Destroying/Removing a vehicle identification number (VIN), Trafficking in Stolen Goods over $5,000, Trafficking in Stolen Goods $5,000 and under.

Amendment to the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act: Bill C-475 (2011)

Bill C-475 officially came into effect on June 26, 2011. As a result, a new section was added to the Criminal Code; Section 7.1(1). This section will be coded into the new UCR violation code of Precursor/Equipment (crystal meth, ecstasy).

The Safe Streets Act: Bill C-10 (2012)

Bill C-10 officially came into effect on August 9, 2012. As a result, two new sections were added to the Criminal Code; Section 172.2(1) and Section 171.1(1). Section 172.2(1) will be mapped to the existing UCR code of Luring a child via computer. Section 171.1(1) will be mapped to the new UCR violation code of Making Sexually Explicit material available to Children.

Combating Terrorism Act: Bill S-7 (2013)

Bill S-7 officially came into effect on July 15th, 2013. This enactment amends the Criminal Code to create offences of leaving or attempting to Canada to commit certain terrorism offences, and brought changes in relation to offences of harbouring terrorists. Seven new UCR violation codes were introduced mid-2013 in response reaction to this legislation.

Mischief to war memorials: Bill C-217 (2014)

Under Criminal Code sections 430(4.11(a)), 430(4.11(b)) and 430 (4.2), Bill C-217 created new criminal offenses of mischief relating to war memorials (2177) and mischief in relation to cultural property (2175) when it came into force on the 19th of June, 2014.

Recruitment to Criminal Organizations: Bill C-394 (2014)

This bill came into force on September 6th, 2014 and makes the recruitment of members by a criminal organization a criminal offense under section 467.111 of the Criminal Code. Incidents of this offence will be coded under violation code 3843.

Protection of Communities and Exploited Persons Act: Bill C-36 (2014)

Bill C-36 came into effect in December 2014. The new legislation targets “the exploitation that is inherent in prostitution and the risks of violence posed to those who engage in it” (Criminal Code Chapter 25, preamble). New violations classified as “Commodification of sexual activity” under “violations against the person” include: the purchasing of sexual services or communicating for that purpose, receiving a material benefit deriving from the purchase of sexual services, procuring of persons for the purpose of prostitution, and advertising sexual services offered for sale. In addition, a number of other offences related to prostitution continue to be considered non-violent offences and are classified under “Other Criminal Code offences”. These include communicating to provide sexual services for consideration, and; stopping or impeding traffic for the purpose of offering, providing or obtaining sexual services for consideration. At the same time, the survey was amended to classify the violations codes of Parent or guardian procuring sexual activity, and Householder permitting prohibited sexual activity under “violations against the person”. The following violations officially expired on December 05, 2014: bawdy house, living off the avails of prostitution of a person under 18, procuring, obtains/communicates with a person under 18 for purpose of sex, and other prostitution.  Police services are able to utilize these codes as their Records Management Systems are updated to allow it. As a result, these data should be interpreted with caution.

Effective December 2014, Bill C-36 amended the definition of the term “common bawdy house” in the Criminal Code to remove reference to prostitution. As a result of this amendment, the UCR violation of “Bawdy house” was terminated, and the new violation of “Common bawdy house” was introduced. Police services are able to utilise this amendment as their Records Management Systems are updated to allow it. As a result, these data should be interpreted with caution.

Protecting Canadians from Online Crime Act: Bill C-13 (2015)

On March 9, 2015, Bill C-13 Protecting Canadians from Online Crime Act came into effect. As a result, the law created a new criminal offence of non-consensual distribution of intimate images. It also clarified that Criminal Code offences of harassing / indecent communications can be committed by any means of telecommunication. Police services are able to utilize these amendments as their Records Management Systems are updated to allow them.

Tackling Contraband Tobacco Act: Bill C-10 (2015)

On April 10 2015, Bill C-10 Tackling Contraband Tobacco Act came into effect. As a result, this law created the Criminal Code offence of trafficking in contraband tobacco which is counted under the violation “Offences against the administration of law and justice”. Prior to April 2015, the offence was counted under “Excise Act”. As such, comparisons of these two violations to previous years should be made with caution.

Tougher Penalties for Child Predators Act: Bill C-26 (2015)

Coming into effect on July 17th, 2015, Bill C-26 increased the maximum penalties for certain sexual offences against children, including failure to comply with orders and probation conditions relating to sexual offences against children. In the UCR, the most serious violation is partially determined by the maximum penalty. As such, changes in maximum penalty may affect the most serious violation in an incident reported by police. Police services are able to utilize these amendments as their Records Management Systems are updated to allow them.

Bill C-51 – Anti-terrorism Act, 2015

Bill C-51 came into effect on July 18, 2015. As a result, a new violation code for the offence of “Advocating or promoting commission of terrorism offences” was added to the survey in reaction to this amendment to the Criminal Code.

An Act to amend the Criminal Code and to make related amendments to other Acts (medical assistance in dying) (2016)

On June 17, 2016, Bill C-14 “An Act to amend the Criminal Code to make related amendments to other Acts (medical assistance in dying)” came in effect. As a result, the law created new offences around for failing to comply with the safeguards which must be respected before medical assistance in dying may be provided to a person, for forging or destroying documents related to medical assistance in dying, for failing to provide the required information for the purpose of permitting the monitoring of medical assistance in dying and for contravening the regulations made by the Minister of Health respecting that information. Three new UCR2 violation codes were introduced in response to these amendments to the Criminal Code. Police services are able to utilize the survey revision as their Records Management Systems are updated to allow them.

Comparing UCR Data with Courts and Corrections Data

It is difficult to make comparisons between data reported by police and data from other sectors of the criminal justice system (i.e., courts and corrections). There is no single unit of count (i.e., incidents, offences, charges, cases or persons) which is defined consistently across the major sectors of the justice system. As well, charges actually laid can be different from the most serious offence by which incidents are categorized. In addition, the number and type of charges laid by police may change at the pre-court stage or during the court process. Time lags between the various stages of the justice process also make comparisons difficult.

Date modified:

Incidences des lois

La modification de la législation et les changements apportés en conséquence au classement des infractions créent une discontinuité dans le dossier historique de certaines infractions criminelles. Lorsqu'on établit des comparaisons dans le temps, il faut tenir compte des changements législatifs concernant les voies de fait, l'agression sexuelle, le vol, le crime d'incendie, les méfaits, la prostitution et les crimes commis par les jeunes. Certains des changements les plus importants sont les suivants :

Agression sexuelle : projet de loi C-127 (1983)

Le projet de loi C-127 a permis de remplacer les articles au Code criminel relatifs au viol et à l'attentat à la pudeur par des articles de loi définissant trois différents niveaux d'agressions sexuelles selon la gravité. Ce projet de loi a assoupli les circonstances dans lesquelles les policiers pouvaient porter des accusations.

Loi sur les jeunes contrevenants (LJC) (1984)

Avec l'entrée en vigueur de la LJC en avril 1984, l'âge minimal auquel un adolescent pouvait être accusé en vertu de la LJC était fixé à 12 ans. Cependant, l'âge maximal variait jusqu'en avril 1985, lorsque l'âge maximal a été établi à 17 ans (jusqu'au 18e anniversaire) dans l'ensemble des provinces et territoires. La définition de jeune utilisée ici fait état des personnes âgées de 12 à 17 ans inclusivement. Cette définition correspond au groupe d'âge des personnes visées par la Loi sur les jeunes contrevenants (LJC).

Infractions au Code de la route: projet de loi C-18 (1985)

En décembre 1985, le projet de loi C18 a effectué des changements majeurs à l'égard des infractions de la circulation (toute la série 700). Il prévoit des peines plus sévères dans le cas de conduite dangereuse et avec facultés affaiblies. Ce projet a également facilité l'application des lois relatives à la conduite avec facultés affaiblies en autorisant la police à prélever des échantillons d'haleine et de sang dans certains cas. Par conséquent, les données antérieures à 1985 ne sont pas comparables et ne sont pas présentées. 

Limites de la valeur des biens : projet de loi C-18 (1985) et projet de loi C-42 (1995)

En 1985, le projet de loi C-18 a modifié les limites de la valeur des biens, les faisant passer de moins de 200 $ et 200 $ et plus, à moins de 1 000 $ et 1 000 $ et plus. Ces mesures législatives s'appliquent à des infractions comme le vol, la possession de biens volés, le méfait et la fraude. En février 1995, le projet de loi C-42 a de nouveau révisé les limites de la valeur des biens, ces limites passant à moins de 5 000 $ et 5 000 $ et plus.

Mesures de rechange : projet de loi C-41 (1996)

La Loi C-41 a été proclamée le 3 septembre 1996. L'un des faits saillants de cette loi consistait en l'introduction de mesures de rechange pour adultes afin d'offrir des moyens de régler les disputes et les infractions mineures à l'extérieur des procédures officielles des tribunaux.

Armes à feu : projet de loi C-68 (1997)

La Loi C-68, proclamée le 1er janvier 1997, oblige tous les propriétaires d'une arme à feu à se munir d'un permis d'arme à feu au plus tard en janvier 2001. Ce permis remplace le Certificat d'enregistrement d'arme à feu qui est en usage depuis 1977. À compter du 1er octobre 1998, toutes les armes à feu devront être enregistrées dans les cinq années de leur acquisition et faire l'objet d'un Certificat d'enregistrement. Le projet de loi C-68 prévoit aussi des peines plus sévères à l'égard des personnes qui utilisent une arme à feu pour commettre un crime.

La Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances : Projet de loi C-8 (1997)

Cette nouvelle législation est entrée en vigueur le 14 mai 1997. La Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances (LRDS) a annulé et remplacé la Loi sur les stupéfiants et certaines parties de la Loi sur les aliments et les drogues en 1996. Certaines infractions reliées à la possession, au trafic et à l'importation de certaines drogues contrôlées et à usage restreint sont maintenant ajoutées dans la catégorie Autres drogues. Par conséquent, on doit faire preuve de prudence lorsque l'on compare les données récentes à celles de 1997.

Conduite dangereuse pour éviter la police : Projet de loi C-202 (2000)

Le projet de loi C-202 est entré en vigueur le 30 mars 2000. Cette législation modifie la section 249 du Code criminel et crée une nouvelle infraction pour conduite dangereuse d'un véhicule lorsqu'effectué avec l'intention d'éviter la police.

Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents : projet de loi C-7 (2003)

Les mesures extrajudiciaires favorisées par la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents (LSJPA), sont entrées en vigueur en avril 2003. Ceci comprend la prise d'aucune autre mesure, les avertissements non officiels par la police, les renvois aux programmes communautaires, les mises en garde officielles par la police, les mises en garde par la Couronne, et les programmes de sanctions extrajudiciaires. Il est présumé que les mesures extrajudiciaires sont suffisantes pour tenir responsables les contrevenants non violents qui n'ont pas, par le passé, été reconnus coupables par les tribunaux.

Courses de rue : Projet de loi C-19 (2006)

La Loi C-19, proclamée le 14 décembre 2006, s'attaque au problème des courses de rue en apportant essentiellement quatre modifications au Code criminel. Il établit la définition d'une «course de rue», il crée cinq nouvelles infractions se rapportant aux courses de rue, pour trios de ces nouvelles infractions, il prévoit des peines maximales d'emprisonnement plus élevées que celles prévues actuellement pour la conduite dangereuse ou la négligence criminelle dans la conduite d'un véhicule à moteur, il introduit des ordonnances d'interdiction de conduire obligatoires, comportant une période minimale et une augmentation graduelle de la durée de l'interdiction de conduire en cas de récidive.

L'Enregistrement illégal de films: Projet de loi C-59 (2007)

La Loi C-59, proclamée le 22 juin 2007, s'attaque à l'enregistrement illégal de films dans les salles de cinéma. Pour ce faire, il crée deux infractions au Code criminel : l'enregistrement à des fins personnelles d'un film projeté dans un cinéma – punissable d'un emprisonnement maximal de deux ans; l'enregistrement à des fins commerciales d'un film projeté dans un cinéma – punissable d'un emprisonnement maximal de cinq ans.

La lutte contre les crimes violents : projet de loi C-2 (2008)

Le projet de loi C-2, qui a été sanctionné le 28 février 2008, a fait passer de 14 à 16 ans l'âge de consentement pour les infractions au Code criminel suivantes : contacts sexuels, incitation à des contacts sexuels, exploitation sexuelle, bestialité et exhibitionnisme devant un enfant de moins de 14 ans. En ce qui concerne les agressions sexuelles des niveaux 1, 2 et 3, l'âge des plaignants est passé à moins de 16 ans (auparavant 14 ans).

La conduite avec facultés affaiblies et le défaut de fournir un échantillon de sang comprennent maintenant la distinction entre l'alcool et les drogues (ou une combinaison de drogues). Le défaut ou le refus de fournir un échantillon d'haleine ou le défaut d'obtempérer ou le refus (drogues) sont maintenant passibles d'une peine maximale de 25 ans.

Les nouvelles infractions relatives aux armes à feu sont réparties entre les introductions par effraction pour voler une arme à feu et les vols qualifiés visant une arme à feu, qui sont passibles d'une peine maximale de 25 ans.

La lutte contre les crimes violents : Projet de loi C-2 (2009)

Le projet de loi C-2, qui a été sanctionné le 28 février 2008, la DUC a également créé un nouveau code pour l'exploitation sexuel d'une personne avec une incapacité.  Aussi, deux nouvelles infractions relatives aux armes à feu étaient créées : le vol pour voler une arme à feu, et Introduction par effraction pour voler une arme à feu.

Loi pour modifier le Code Criminel (le crime organisé et la protection de participant du système judiciaire) Projet de loi C-14 (2009)

Le projet de loi C-14 est entré en vigueur le 2 octobre, 2009. Par conséquent, deux nouvelles infractions ont été crées : Agression avec une arme ou causant des lésions corporelles contre un policier, et violences avec voies de fait contre un policier.

En 2002, des changements législatifs ont été adoptés en vue d'inclure l'utilisation d'Internet pour commettre des infractions liées à la pornographie juvénile. Ainsi, la variation en pourcentage de cette infraction est calculée pour la période allant de 2003 à 2009.

Loi codifiant le vol d’identité : Project de loi S-4 (2010)

Le projet de loi S-4 est entré en vigueur le 8 janvier 2010. Par conséquent, deux nouvelles infractions ont été créées : Vol d’identité et Fraude d’identité.

Traite de personnes âgées de moins de dix-huit ans : Projet de loi C-268 (2010)

Le projet de loi C-268 est entré en vigueur le 29 juin 2010. Par conséquent, une nouvelle section du Code Criminel était créée; Section 279.011(1), qui serait codifiée au code du DUC existant de Traite des personnes.

Loi pour modifier le Code Criminel (attentat suicide à la bombe) : Projet de loi S-215 (2010)

Le projet de loi S-215 est entré en vigueur le 15 décembre 2010. Cette édiction modifie le Code Criminel pour clarifier que l’attentat suicide à la bombe est inclus dans la définition « d’activité terroriste ». Par conséquent, ils devraient être inclus dans ces infractions DUC : Participation à une activité d’un groupe terroriste, Facilitation d’une activité terroriste, et Se livrer ou charger une personne de se livrer à une activité terroriste.

Vol d’automobile et trafic de biens criminellement obtenus : Projet de loi S-9 (2011)

Le projet de loi S-9 est entré en vigueur le 29 avril 2011. Par conséquent, un nouveau code d’infraction pour le Vol de véhicule à moteur a été créé. Ceci a remplacé les infractions DUC de Vol d’un véhicule à moteur de plus de 5000 $ et Vol d’un véhicule à moteur de 5000 $ et moins.

Possession de biens volés est maintenant divisée en deux catégories; Possession de biens volés de plus de 5000 $ et Possession de biens volés de 5000 $ et moins.

Trois nouveaux codes d’infractions DUC étaient créés : Modification/destruction/enlèvement du numéro d’identification du véhicule (NIV), Trafic de biens volés de plus de 5000 $, et Trafic de biens volés de 5000 $ et moins.

Modification de la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances (LRDS) : Projet de loi C-475 (2011)

Le projet de loi C-475 est entré en vigueur le 26 juin 2011. Par conséquent, une nouvelle section de Code Criminel était créée; Section 7.1(1). Cette section serait codifiée à la nouvelle infraction DUC de Précurseur/équipement (méthamphétamine, ecstasy).

Loi sur la sécurité des rues et des communautés : Projet de loi C-10 (2012)

Le projet de loi C-10 est entré en vigueur le 9 août 2012. Par conséquent, deux nouvelles sections de Code Criminel étaient créées; Section 172.2(1) et Section 171.1(1). Section 1712.2(1) sera mise en correspondance avec le code d’infraction DUC existant de Leurre d’un enfant au moyen d’un ordinateur. Section 171.1(1) sera codifiée à la nouvelle infraction DUC de Rendre disponible du matériel sexuellement explicite à une enfant.

Loi sur la lutte contre le terrorisme: Projet de loi S-7 (2013)

Le Projet de loi S-7 est entré en vigueur le 15 juillet 2013. Le texte modifie le Code criminel afin d’ériger en infraction le fait de quitter ou de tenter de quitter le Canada pour commettre certaines infractions de terrorisme. Il apporte aussi des changements en lien avec l’infraction d’héberger une personne qui s’est livrée à une activité terroriste. Par suite de ces modifications, sept nouveaux codes d’infraction du DUC ont été créés au milieu de 2013.

Méfaits à l’égard des monuments commémoratifs de guerre : Projet de loi C-217 (2014)

En vertu des articles 430(4.11a)), 430(4.11b)) et 430(4.2) du Code criminel, le Projet de loi C-217 a créé de nouvelles infractions criminelles de méfait à l’égard des monuments commémoratifs de guerre (2177) et de méfait à l’égard d’un bien culturel (2175). Ce projet de loi est en vigueur depuis le 19 juin 2014.

Recrutement - organisation criminelle : Projet de loi C-394 (2014)

Ce projet de loi, en vigueur depuis le 19 juin 2014, criminalise le recrutement de membres par une organisation criminelle en vertu de l’article 467.111 du Code criminel. Les affaires comportant cette infraction se verront attribuer le code d’infraction 3843.

Loi sur la protection des collectivités et des personnes victimes d’exploitation : Projet de loi C-36 (2014)

Le projet de loi C-36 est entré en vigueur en décembre 2014. La nouvelle loi cible « l’exploitation inhérente à la prostitution et les risques de violence auxquels s’exposent les personnes qui se livrent à cette pratique » (préambule du chapitre 25 du Code criminel). Les nouvelles infractions considérées comme une « marchandisation des activités sexuelles » dans la catégorie des « infractions contre la personne » englobent l’achat de services sexuels et la communication à cette fin, l’obtention d’un avantage matériel provenant de l’achat de services sexuels, le proxénétisme et la publicité de services sexuels moyennant rétribution. En outre, un certain nombre d’autres infractions liées à la prostitution sont encore considérées comme des infractions sans violence et sont incluses dans les « autres infractions au Code criminel ». Ces infractions comprennent la communication dans le but de rendre des services sexuels moyennant rétribution et l’interférence à la circulation dans le but d’offrir, de rendre ou d’obtenir des services sexuels moyennant rétribution. Parallèlement, la DUC a été modifié pour classer les codes d’infraction « Père, mère ou tuteur qui sert d’entremetteur » et « Maître de maison qui permet des actes sexuels interdits » dans la catégorie des « infractions contre la personne ». Les infractions suivantes ont expiré officiellement le 5 décembre 2014 : maison de débauche, vivre des produits de la prostitution d’une personne de moins de 18 ans, proxénétisme, obtenir des services ou communiquer avec une personne de moins de 18 ans à des fins de prostitution, et autres infractions reliées à la prostitution. Les services de police peuvent utiliser ces codes, car leurs systèmes de gestion des documents ont été mis à jour de manière à les permettre. Il faut donc interpréter ces données avec prudence.

En vigueur depuis décembre 2014, le projet de loi C-36 a modifié la définition du terme « maison de débauche » dans le Code criminel pour ne plus faire mention de la prostitution. Par suite de cette modification, on a abandonné l’infraction liée à la définition précédente de « maison de débauche » de la DUC et introduit une infraction correspondant à la nouvelle définition. Les services de police peuvent tenir compte de cette modification, car leurs systèmes de gestion des documents ont été mis à jour en conséquence. Il faut donc interpréter ces données avec prudence.

Loi sur la protection des Canadiens contre la cybercriminalité : Projet de loi C-13 (2015)

Le 9 mars 2015, le projet de loi C-13, Loi sur la protection des Canadiens contre la cybercriminalité, est entré en vigueur. En vertu de cette loi, une nouvelle infraction est prévue dans le Code criminel, soit la distribution non consensuelle d’images intimes. Elle précise également que les infractions relatives aux communications harcelantes ou indécentes prévues dans le Code criminel peuvent être commises par tout moyen de communication. Les services de police peuvent tenir compte de ces modifications, car leurs systèmes de gestion des dossiers ont été mis à jour en conséquence.

Loi visant à combattre la contrebande de tabac : Projet de loi C-10 (2015)

Le 10 avril 2015, le projet de loi C-10, Loi visant à combattre la contrebande de tabac, est entré en vigueur. En vertu de cette loi, une nouvelle infraction est prévue dans le Code criminel, soit la contrebande de tabac, que l’on classe parmi les « infractions contre l’application de la loi et l’administration de la justice ». Avant avril 2015, cette infraction était comptabilisée aux termes de la Loi sur l’accise. Il faut donc faire preuve de prudence au moment de la comparaison de ces deux infractions pour les années antérieures.

Loi sur le renforcement des peines pour les prédateurs d’enfants : Projet de loi C-26 (2015)

Entré en vigueur le 17 juillet 2015, le projet de loi C-26 prévoit une augmentation des peines maximales pour certaines infractions sexuelles commises contre des enfants, y compris la violation d’une ordonnance d’interdiction ou d’une ordonnance de probation se rapportant à une infraction sexuelle visant un enfant. Dans la DUC, l’infraction la plus grave est en partie déterminée par la peine maximale. Par conséquent, la modification d’une peine maximale peut avoir un effet sur l’infraction la plus grave dans une affaire déclarée par la police. Les services de police peuvent tenir compte de ces modifications, car leurs systèmes de gestion des dossiers ont été mis à jour en conséquence.

Projet de loi C-51 – Loi antiterroriste, (2015)

Le Projet de loi C-51 est entré en vigueur le 18 juillet 2015. Le texte modifie le Code criminel et par suite de cette modification, un nouveau code d’infraction a été ajouté à l’enquête pour l’infraction « Préconiser ou fomenter la perpétration d’infractions de terrorisme ».

Loi modifiant le Code criminel et apportant des modifications connexes à d’autres lois (aide médicale à mourir) (2016)

Le 17 juin 2016, le projet de loi C-14, Loi modifiant le Code criminel et apportant des modifications connexes à d’autres lois (aide médicale à mourir), est entré en vigueur. En vertu de cette loi, de nouvelles infractions ont été créées relativement au non-respect des mesures de sauvegarde qui doivent être respectées avant que l’aide médicale à mourir soit fournie à une personne, à la falsification ou à la destruction de documents relatifs à l’aide médicale à mourir, à l’omission de fournir les renseignements nécessaires à la surveillance de l’aide médicale à mourir et à la contravention des règlements pris par le ministre de la Santé concernant ces renseignements. Trois nouveaux codes d’infraction du DUC 2 ont été créés en réponse aux modifications apportées au Code criminel. Les services de police peuvent utiliser les révisions à l’enquête étant donné que leurs systèmes de gestion des dossiers ont été mis à jour pour leur permettre de le faire.

Comparaison des données du Programme DUC avec celles des tribunaux et des services correctionnels

Il est difficile de comparer les données déclarées par les services de police avec celles qui proviennent d'autres secteurs du système de justice pénale (tribunaux et services correctionnels). Aucune unité de dénombrement (c'est-à-dire les affaires, les infractions, les accusations, les causes ou les personnes) n'est définie de la même façon dans les principales composantes du système judiciaire. Comme on l'a noté, les accusations effectivement portées peuvent être différentes de l'infraction la plus grave en fonction de laquelle les affaires sont déclarées. En outre, le nombre et la nature des accusations portées par la police peuvent changer avant la tenue ou lors d'un procès. Les intervalles de temps entre les diverses étapes du processus judiciaire rendent également difficiles les comparaisons.

Date de modification :