Registered Apprenticeship Information System (RAIS) Guide

Concepts used by the Registered Apprenticeship Information System (RAIS)

Designated trades
Apprenticeship training and trade qualifications in Canada are governed by the provincial and territorial jurisdictions. These jurisdictions determine the trades, for which, apprenticeship training is made available as well as the trades, for which, certificates are granted. These are referred to as designated trades. The jurisdictions also determine which of the designated trades require certification in order to work unsupervised in the trade. The list of designated trades varies considerably between the jurisdictions. Data from the Registered Apprenticeship Information System includes only those trades that are designated in at least one province or territory.

Registered apprentices are persons who are in a supervised work training program in a designated trade within their provincial or territorial jurisdiction. The apprentice must be registered with the appropriate governing body (usually a Ministry of Education or Labour or a trade specific industry governing body) in order to complete the training.

Trade Qualifiers or Trade Challengers are persons who have worked in a specific trade for an extended period of time, without necessarily having ever been an apprentice, and who have received certification from a jurisdiction.  This is usually done via a skills assessment examination in the trade.

Registrations
“Total Registrations” in apprenticeship programs is the count of any registrations that occurred during the reporting period (from January 1 2015 to December 31 2015) within the 13 jurisdictions.

Total registrations = Already registered + New registrations + Reinstatements

  • Already registered - the number of registrations carried forward from the previous year
  • New registrations – new entrants to any apprenticeship program that occurred during the 12 month reporting period
  • Reinstatements - registrations by people who had left an apprenticeship program in a specific trade in a previous year and had returned to the same apprenticeship program during the reporting period

Red Seal and non-Red Seal Programs
The Red Seal Program sets common standards to assess the skills of tradespersons across Canada in specific trades, referred to as the “Red Seal” trades. Tradespersons who meet the Red Seal standards, through examination, receive a Red Seal endorsement on their provincial/territorial trade certificates.

Non-Red Seal trades do not have interprovincial standards. Many non-Red Seal trades do not have an examination requirement in order to work in the trade.

Certification
The requirements for granting a certificate varies by jurisdiction in Canada. In most instances, an apprentice is issued a certificate if he or she completes such requirements as supervised on-the-job training, technical training as well as passing one or more examinations. Most trade qualifiers, meanwhile, become certified once they pass an examination.

Certification terminology
There are jurisdictional differences in the names of certificates awarded. They may include

Certificate of Apprenticeship
Diploma of Qualification
Certificate of Qualification
Journeyperson’s Certificate

Certificat d’aptitude
Certificat de compagnon
Certificat de compétence
Diplôme d’apprentissage

Federal, provincial and territorial changes pertinent to the interpretation of RAIS data

1 Starting in 2003, a change occurred in the reporting of Newfoundland and Labrador's information concerning newly registered apprentices and cancellations/suspensions.

2 Changes in Prince Edward Island's information system, starting with the reporting of 2005, may affect historical comparisons. Prince Edward Island made some adjustments and revisions, at the end of 2006, to their database which accounts for the change in the carry-over of registered apprentices at the beginning of 2007. In 2007, an increase in new registrations is to some extent related to a demand for skilled workers outside of the province. In 2008, technical issues with the Prince Edward Island's information system and reporting of data since the redesign of the Registered Apprenticeship Information System survey caused a number of apprentices not to be reported.

3 Revisions have been made to the Quebec 1991 to 2005 data, which also change the previous Canada totals.

4 As of 2008, the portion of total Quebec trade information coming from Emploi-Quebec is no longer being provided in aggregated form. The data from the province of Quebec includes all trades with the exception of the Automotive sector.

5 In Ontario, differences may occur in the carry-over totals of active apprentices from 2006 to 2007. This is a result of the preparation and conversion of client data to Ontario's new relational database system in late 2006 and in the process a clean-up of inactive clients occurred and adjusted the active total of registered apprentices and their carry-over into 2007.

6 Minor trade code revisions, in 2006, to Manitoba.

7 For 2008, Alberta incorrectly included the industrial warehousing trade with the Partsperson and Partsperson (material) trades and also excluded the Construction craft worker trade. A distinct feature of the Rig technician trade is that individuals may be registered as apprentices in the trade, however their certificates are granted as trade qualifiers (challengers).

8 Revisions have been made to the British Columbia 2005 data, which also change the previous Canada totals for 2005.

9 Prior to 1999, Nunavut was part of the Northwest Territories.

10 In 2008, Alberta reported a large number of discontinued apprentices, which was a result of them implementing a series of cancellations and suspensions of inactive apprentices.

11 New Quebec legislation introduced in 2008 and 2009, relating to Emploi-Quebec sector trades, have resulted in some changes in the reporting of registered apprenticeship registrations.

12 An adjustment has been made to the Joiner trade in British Columbia, to include the trade in the Iinterior finishing major trade group, rather than in the previous Carpenters major trade group.

13 The Emploi-Québec 2010 data includes revised trade programs where some of the trades have been segmented into several levels. The segmenting of trade programs into levels creates a situation for possible multiple registrations and completions by a single individual apprentice, where previously only one registration and completion existed for this individual.

14 The Electronics technician (Consumer Products) trade was de-designated as a Red Seal trade in 2011.

15 The Gasfitter - Class A and Gasfitter - Class B trades were designated as Red Seal trades in 2012.

16 Changes in provincial regulations governing drinking water related trades currently reported by Emploi-Québec, have resulted in program changes, as well as the transferring of responsibility of some of these trades to the Conseil de la construction du Québec.

17 Since 2013, Ontario’s data comes from two different sources. The registration data continues to be reported by the Ministry of Training Colleges and Universities. The certification data is now being reported by the Ontario College of Trades which governs the certification of all apprentices and journeypersons. A cleanup of the database was performed in order to facilitate this transition which has resulted in some discrepancies in the carry-over from 2012. The impact of these changes continue to be felt in the years following 2013.

18 In 2013, a regulatory change came into effect which affects both Ornamental ironworkers and Structural steel erectors under the jurisdiction of the Conseil de la construction du Québec. Workers in these two trades are now considered to be Ironworkers.  The impact of these changes is also felt in 2014 and 2015.

19 In 2013, changes were made to the Automotive Service Technician trades in British Columbia.  Apprentices no longer have to complete mandatory work-based training hours at each program level before progressing to the next level of technical training. The impact of these changes are also felt in 2014.

20 Certificates in the Steamfitter/Pipefitter trade under the Conseil de la construction du Québec, also include Plumbers.

21 The Heavy Equipment Operator (Dozer), Heavy Equipment Operator (Excavator) and Heavy Equipment Operator (Tractor-Loader-Backhoe) trades were designated as Red Seal trades in 2014.

22 Since 2013, Building/Construction Metalworker has been coded to Metal Workers (other) instead of being included in the Other category.

23 Trade qualifiers in trades governed by Emploi-Québec represent certificates granted to individuals who received recognition for previously completed training. Emploi Québec may, for example, recognize training in the case where an individual has a certificate in other provinces, territories, countries, or if the individual received a Diploma of Vocational Studies (DVS) in Quebec. These trade qualifiers also represent certificates granted as part of the regular re-certification process required in certain trades.

24 As of April 2014, the Ontario College of Trades began administering assessments for trade equivalencies in Ontario. These assessments were previously administered by the Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development.  During this time, the Ontario College of Trades also held promotional and enforcement campaigns aimed at increasing awareness of this program.  As well, a fee for assessments was introduced in May of 2015 with advanced notice given to the general public.  These administrative changes may have contributed to the increase in the number of trade qualifiers in this province starting in 2014. 

25 In March of 2014, there were changes made to the eligibility for the Apprenticeship Training Tax Credit in Ontario.  This may have affected registration counts in some trades including those for information technology.  

Date modified:

Guide pour le Système d’information sur les apprentis inscrits (SIAI)

Concepts utilisés par le Système d’information sur les apprentis inscrits (SIAI)

Métiers désignés
La formation en apprentissage et les qualifications des métiers au Canada sont régies par les provinces et les territoires. Ce sont ces secteurs de compétence qui déterminent les métiers qui peuvent faire l’objet d’un apprentissage et les métiers pour lesquels des certificats sont accordés. On parle alors de métiers désignés. Les secteurs de compétence déterminent également les métiers désignés qui exigent une certification pour travailler sans supervision dans le métier. La liste des métiers désignés varie de façon importante d’un secteur à l’autre. Les données tirées du Système d’information sur les apprentis inscrits ne présentent que les métiers qui ont été désignés dans au moins une province ou un territoire.

Les apprentis inscrits sont des personnes qui suivent un programme de formation de travail supervisé dans un métier désigné dans leur province ou territoire. Pour suivre la formation, l’apprenti doit être inscrit auprès d’un corps administratif approprié (généralement un ministère de l’Éducation ou du Travail ou un organisme de réglementation de l’industrie propre au métier désigné).

Les ouvriers qualifiés sont des personnes qui ont travaillé dans un métier donné pendant une période de temps prolongée, sans avoir nécessairement été un apprenti, et qui ont obtenu une certification d’une province ou d’un territoire, habituellement dans le cadre d’un examen d’évaluation des compétences requises dans leur métier.

Inscriptions
Le nombre total d’inscriptions dans les programmes d’apprentissage est le total de toutes les inscriptions qui sont survenues durant la période visée (par exemple, soit du 1er  janvier  2015 au 31  décembre  2015) au sein des 13  secteurs de compétence.

Nombre total d’inscriptions = déjà inscrits + nouvelles inscriptions + réintégrations

  • Déjà inscrits  — nombre d’apprentis de l’année précédente qui sont toujours inscrits
  • Nouvelles inscriptions  — nouveaux inscrits à un programme d’apprentissage durant la période de 12 mois visée
  • Réintégrations  — inscriptions de personnes qui avaient abandonné un programme d’apprentissage dans un métier donné au cours d’une année antérieure et qui se sont inscrites de nouveau au même programme d’apprentissage durant la période visée

Programmes du Sceau rouge et autres programmes sans la mention Sceau rouge
Le Programme Sceau rouge établit des normes communes pour évaluer les compétences des personnes de métier partout au Canada, dans des métiers auxquels on a attribué l’appellation de métiers « Sceau rouge ». Les personnes de métiers qui répondent aux normes du Sceau rouge, après avoir réussi l’examen, reçoivent la mention Sceau rouge sur leur certificat de métier de leur province ou territoire.

Les métiers sans le Sceau rouge ne sont pas soumis aux normes interprovinciales. Plusieurs de ces métiers n’exigent pas de passer un examen pour travailler dans le métier.

Certification
Les exigences de délivrance d’un certificat varient d’un secteur de compétence l’autre au Canada. Dans la plupart des cas, l’apprenti obtient son certificat s’il satisfait à des exigences telles que de la formation en cours d’emploi avec supervision, une formation technique ainsi que la réussite d’un ou de plusieurs examens. La plupart des ouvriers qualifiés obtiennent quant à eux leur certification après avoir passé un examen .

Terminologie de certification
Selon la province ou le territoire, il y a différentes appellations pour désigner les certificats émis. Voici les principales :

Certificate of Apprenticeship
Diploma of Qualification
Certificate of Qualification
Journeyperson’s Certificate

Certificat d’aptitude
Certificat de compagnon
Certificat de compétence
Diplôme d’apprentissage

Changements à l’échelle fédérale, provinciale et territoriale liés à l’interprétation des données du SIAI

1 Un changement est survenu en 2003 dans la déclaration des données de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador en ce qui concerne les apprentis nouvellement inscrits et les annulations/suspensions.

2 Des changements apportés en 2005 au système d’information de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard peuvent avoir une influence sur les comparaisons historiques. À la fin de 2006, l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard a fait des ajustements et révisions à leur base de données qui prend en compte le changement dans les apprentis inscrits reportés au commencement de 2007. En 2007, une augmentation dans les nouvelles inscriptions est, à un certain degré, reliée à la demande de travailleurs qualifiés à l’extérieur de la province. En 2008, des problèmes techniques reliés au système d’information de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et des changements apportés au Système d’information sur les apprentis inscrits ont provoqué un sous-dénombrement du nombre d’apprentis.

3 Les données du Québec de 1991 à 2005 ont été révisées, ce qui se répercute également sur les totaux antérieurs du Canada de 1991 à 2005.

4 À partir de 2008, l’information provenant d’Emploi-Québec qui fait partie de tous les métiers rapportés en Québec n’est plus fournie en format agrégé. La déclaration du Québec inclut tous les métiers à l’exclusion des secteurs de l’automobile.

5 En Ontario, des différences peuvent se produire dans les totaux des apprentis actifs reportés de 2006 à 2007. Ceci est le résultat de la préparation et la conversion des données des clients vers la fin de 2006 à la nouvelle base de données relationnelle de l’Ontario et aussi aux procédures de nettoyage des clients inactifs et de l’ajustement du total actif des apprentis inscrits, reporté à 2007.

6 En 2006, des révisions mineures ont été effectuées au code de métiers au Manitoba.

7 En 2008, l’Alberta a regroupé le métier de Préposé d’entrepôt industriel avec les métiers de Commis aux pièces et Préposé aux pièces de matériels tandis que le Métier de manœuvre en construction était exclu. Une caractéristique distincte du Métier de technicien en forage consiste en l’inscription des individus en tant qu’apprentis, mais, alors que leurs certificats sont décernés en tant qu’ouvriers qualifiés («  challengers  »).

8 Les données de la Colombie-Britannique de 2005 ont été révisées, ce qui se répercute également sur les totaux antérieurs du Canada pour 2005.

9 Avant 1999, le Nunavut faisait partie des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

10 En 2008, la province d’Alberta a déclaré un grand nombre d’apprentis qui ont interrompu leur formation, cette province ayant procédé à une série d’annulations et de suspensions d’apprentis inactifs.

11 Des changements législatifs reliés à Emploi-Québec sont entrés en vigueur en 2008 et 2009. Ces changements ont contribué à la déclaration des nombres des apprentis inscrits.

12 Un ajustement a été effectué pour le métier de Menuisier en Colombie-Britannique. Ce métier est présentement inclus dans le grand groupe de professions de Finition intérieure. Auparavant, ce métier était inclus dans le grand groupe des Charpentiers.

13 Les données de 2010 d’Emploi-Québec comprennent les données des programmes d’apprentissage révisés, où certains des métiers ont été segmentés en plusieurs niveaux. Cette segmentation des programmes d’apprentissage donne lieu à la possibilité que plusieurs inscriptions et achèvements soient liés à un seul apprenti, alors qu’antérieurement une seule inscription et un seul achèvement existaient pour le même apprenti.

14 Le métier de Technicien en électronique (produits de consommation) a été retiré de la liste des métiers désignés Sceau rouge en 2011.

15 Les métiers de Monteur d’installations au gaz (classe A) et Monteur d’installations au gaz (classe B) ont été désignés comme métiers du Sceau rouge en 2012.

16 Des changements dans les règlements provinciaux régissant les métiers reliés à l’eau potable actuellement notifiés par Emploi-Québec, ont entraîné des changements de programme, ainsi que le transfert de la responsabilité de certains de ces métiers au Conseil de la construction du Québec.

17 Depuis 2013, les données de l’Ontario proviennent de deux différentes sources : les inscriptions sont fournies par le ministère de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités de l’Ontario et les certificats émis sont maintenant émis par l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario, qui régit l’accréditation de tous les apprentis et compagnons. Un nettoyage de la base de données a été effectué afin de faciliter cette transition, qui a donné lieu à certaines divergences avec les données des années précédentes. Ces changements continuent d’influencer les données à partir de 2013.

18 En 2013, un changement réglementaire est entré en vigueur, qui touche les Monteurs/Monteuses des charpentes en acier ornemental ainsi que les Monteurs/Monteuses d’acier de structure sous la responsabilité de la Commission de la construction du Québec. Les travailleurs de ces deux métiers sont maintenant considérés comme des Monteurs/Monteuses des charpentes en acier. Ces changements influencent également les données de 2014 et de 2015.

19 En 2013, des changements ont été apportés au métier de Mécanicien/Mécanicienne de véhicules automobiles en Colombie-Britannique. Les apprentis n’ont plus besoin d’avoir un certain nombre d’heures de formation obligatoire en milieu de travail à chaque niveau de programme avant de passer au prochain niveau de formation technique. Ces changements influencent également les données de 2014.

20 Les certificats dans le métier Tuyauteur-monteur de conduites de vapeur sous la direction du Conseil de la construction du Québec comprennent également ceux des plombiers.

21 Les métiers Opérateur/opératrice d’équipement lourd (bulldozer), Opérateur/opératrice d’équipement lourd (excavatrice) et Opérateur/opératrice d’équipement lourd (tractopelle-rétrocaveuse) ont été désignés comme métiers du Sceau rouge en 2014.

22 Depuis 2013, le métier de Serrurier/ serrurière de bâtiment est codé dans le regroupement Métallurgistes (autres) plutôt que dans le regroupement « Autre  ».

23 Les ouvriers qualifiés dans les métiers régis par Emploi-Québec représentent les personnes qui ont obtenu un certificat en reconnaissance de leur formation antérieure. Emploi-Québec peut, par exemple, reconnaître la formation dans le cas d’une personne qui aurait un certificat dans d’autres provinces, territoires ou pays, ou d’une personne qui aurait reçu un diplôme d’études professionnelles (DEP) au Québec. Ces ouvriers qualifiés représentent aussi les certifications accordées dans le cadre du processus régulier de renouvellement de la certification requis dans certains métiers.

24 En date d’avril 2014, l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario a commencé à faire passer des évaluations d’équivalence de métiers en Ontario. Ces évaluations étaient données auparavant par le ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Formation professionnelle. Pendant ce temps, l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario a également organisé des campagnes de promotion et d’application qui visaient à mieux faire connaître ce programme. De plus, des frais d’évaluation ont été mis en place en mai 2015 après qu’on a avisé le grand public. Il se pourrait que ces changements administratifs aient contribué à l’augmentation du nombre d’ouvriers qualifiés dans cette province depuis 2014. 

25 En mars 2014, des changements ont été apportés à l’admissibilité au crédit d’impôt pour la formation en apprentissage en Ontario. Il se pourrait que ces changements aient influencé le nombre d’inscriptions dans certains métiers, y compris ceux du secteur de la technologie de l’information.  

  

Date de modification :