Statistics Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Sales in volume for Wholesale Trade

Introduction

With the September 2012 release of the Monthly Wholesale Trade Survey (MWTS) results (reference month July 2012), a new deflation methodology for wholesale sales has been implemented.

This new methodology improves on the previous one, and consequently its results are not strictly comparable to those already published, although the overall trends are similar. The CANSIM table 081-0013 containing the previous estimates has been terminated and the improved results can be found in CANSIM table 081-0015.

The purpose of this document is to present the improved methodology for producing the volume measures of sales from the MWTS, as well as highlight the differences from the previous approach.

Purpose of Deflation

Changes in the value of sales collected at current prices (i.e. at the time the sales took place) by the MWTS may be attributable to changes in prices or to changes in quantities sold, or both. To study the activity of the wholesale sector, it is often desirable to remove the variations due to price changes from the values at current prices in order to obtain an indicator of the changes in the quantities sold, i.e. an indicator of the volume of sales. This process is known as deflation.

Derivation of Wholesale Sales Price Indexes

To deflate wholesale sales, suitable price indexes must be used. In the new deflation methodology for wholesale sales, the main price indexes used are the selling price indexes obtained from the Wholesale Services Price Index (WSPI) program. This program produces monthly data that are released on a quarterly basis with about a four month lag. Hence, they are not available in time to deflate the most recent observations of wholesale sales.

It was thus necessary to construct price indexes to extend the WSPI-based ones for the most current months. The growth rates of these derived price indexes are used until they are replaced by the WSPI-based ones once they become available.

In what follows, we describe how price indexes, with base year 2007, are computed for the deflation of wholesale sales. We first describe how the WSPI data are used and then how the derived price indexes are constructed.

Price indexes based on the WSPI

From the WSPI program, monthly selling price indexes are available at the 5-digit North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) industry level. These selling price indexes are weighted together to obtain a sales price index for each of the wholesale trade industries covered by the MWTS. Those industries are called trade groups.

The weights used to combine the selling price indexes into a trade group price index are the proportions of the sales of the 5-digit NAICS industries within each trade group. These weights are obtained from the Annual Wholesale Trade Survey (AWTS). They vary from year to year; i.e. the 2007 proportions of sales are used in 2007, those of 2008 in 2008, and so on. For the two most recent years, the last available annual data from the AWTS are used.

Derived price indexes

To extend the WSPI-based price indexes, derived price indexes for each trade group had to be constructed based on assumptions that capture the main elements thought to affect wholesalers’ selling prices. These derived price indexes are based on the prices of the commodities traded and on the proportion of the fluctuations in the exchange rate of the dollar that is immediately passed on to the trade group’s customers.

a) Main assumptions

Wholesalers trade a portion of the total supply in Canada of a commodity. The total supply is the sum of domestic production and imports. A wholesale price index for each commodity traded is obtained by combining a domestic production price index with an import price index.

Wholesalers sell domestically and on export markets with perhaps differentiated prices. It is assumed however that they set their prices according to the changes in the prices of the commodities that they trade, whether the commodities are exported or not.

It is also assumed that the variations in the price of a commodity are the same across wholesale trade groups. This means that a commodity sold by various trade groups has a unique price index, but the weight of that commodity varies across trade groups.

b) Wholesale commodity prices

A wholesale price index with base year 2007 for each commodity would be obtained by combining a domestic production price index with an import price index using a 2007 import weight. But since there was no wholesale commodity survey in 2007, the commodity imports’ shares were obtained instead from the 2008 Wholesale Origin and Destination of Goods (WODG) data collected on the AWTS.

Most of the domestic production prices are taken from the Industrial Product Price Index program. For some farm products, data from the Farm Product Price Index program are used. The Commercial Software Price Index as well as the Consumer Price Index for Digital Computing Equipment and Devices, adjusted for major sales tax changes, are also used.

For the import components, the fixed weighted (Laspeyres) import price indexes on a customs basis from the International Trade Price Indexes program are used.

c) Trade group prices

The commodities sold by each trade group, as well as their proportions in the group’s total sales, are known from the 2008 WODG results. These proportions are used to combine the wholesale commodity prices into a price index for the trade group’s sales. The trade group price indexes are weighted harmonic means of the commodity price indexes.

For a few trade groups selling a wide variety of commodities, we included only those commodities accounting for at least 95% of the group’s sales, as the exclusion of the other ones with little weight has essentially no effect on the trade group’s price index.

d) Adjustment for the exchange rate of the dollar

Many of the import prices used in the derivation of the wholesale commodity price indexes fully and immediately reflect the exchange rate fluctuations of the dollar. However, wholesalers do not necessarily adjust their prices immediately to compensate for those fluctuations; generally, they will change their prices to reflect only a proportion of them and maybe with a lag.

A comparison of the trade group price indexes with the selling price indexes from the WSPI program showed that the price indexes for many trade groups required an adjustment to remove a bias caused by the incomplete pass-through of the fluctuations in the exchange rate of the dollar.

These pass-through adjustments were evaluated by a linear regression of the ratio of the trade group price index to the WSPI-based price index on the exchange rate of the dollar vis-à-vis the U.S. currency. The adjusted trade group price indexes are the derived price indexes.

e) An exception

For one trade group, NAICS 4142 - Home Entertainment Equipment and Household Appliance Wholesaler-Distributors, it was found that even the adjusted price index was not appropriately tracking the selling price index from the WSPI program.

Hence, for this particular trade group the derived price index is formed instead from a combination of two CPI components, adjusted for major sales tax changes. The two CPI components are those for Audio Equipment and Video Equipment, which are combined using their weights in the CPI.

Derivation of the Volume of Wholesale Sales

As indicated previously, changes in the value of wholesale sales may be attributable to changes in the prices of the commodities sold, or to the quantities sold, or to both. With deflation, a measure of the volume of sales can be obtained for the analysis of the changes in the quantities sold, removing the effect of price changes.

Two measures of the total volume of wholesale sales are computed. One is the volume of sales at constant prices (with and without seasonal adjustment); the other is the volume of sales in chained dollars (only available seasonally adjusted).

Volume at constant prices (Laspeyres formula)

The volume of sales at constant prices uses the relative importance of the products’ prices in a previous period, currently the year 2007, to evaluate the change in the quantities sold. This year is called the base year. The resulting deflated values are said to be “at 2007 prices.” Using the prices of a previous period to measure current activity provides a representative measurement of the current volume of activity with respect to that period.

The price indexes used to obtain the volume of sales at constant prices are the extended price indexes, i.e. the WSPI-based price indexes extended with the derived price indexes described earlier.

The nominal (current dollars) sales of each trade group are divided by their respective extended price index, and then the total volume of sales at constant prices is obtained by adding the volume of sales across the 25 trade groups covered by the MWTS.

The unadjusted and seasonally adjusted volumes at constant prices are computed similarly. In the computation of the seasonally adjusted volume of sales, however, the price indexes are seasonally adjusted directly using the X-12-ARIMA program if appropriate.

Volume in chained dollars (Fisher formula)

The total volume of sales in chained dollars is the geometric mean of two evaluations of the change in the quantities sold between two consecutive months. One evaluation uses the prices of the previous month to evaluate the change; the other uses the prices of the current month.

Since the general tendency for commodity prices is to increase, the evaluation based on the prices of the previous month tends to overstate the change in quantities; i.e. as price increases, buyers tend to buy more of a cheaper commodity. Therefore, using the prices of a previous period to value the quantities bought currently may lead to an overstatement of the change in quantities.

Similarly, the evaluation of the change in the quantities sold using the prices of the current month will tend to understate the change in quantities as this approach gives more weight to the lower priced commodities than to the higher priced ones.

Hence, the geometric average of the two evaluations of the monthly change in quantities (with the previous and current monthly prices) mitigates these under- and over-statements. The volume of sales in chained dollars thus captures the effect of the most recent price changes in the change in volume, as it combines the changes in volume measured with respect to both the current and previous month’s prices.

The total volume of sales in chained dollars is computed monthly, and then the monthly variations are chained (compounded) to provide a time series of the changes in volumes. The time series is then scaled to be equal to the total value of wholesale sales in current dollars for the year 2007.

As the only monthly price and quantity information available are the price and volume data for the 25 trade groups covered by the MWTS, the volume of sales in chained dollars is only computed for the Wholesale Trade sector as a whole.

As well, it is only produced in seasonally adjusted form, since chaining monthly raw volume variations may result in hard-to-interpret monthly fluctuations.

Improvements over the Previous Methodology

The new methodology for the deflation of wholesale sales brings various improvements to the previous one. These improvements include:

  • The use of observed wholesale selling price indexes (when available) instead of derived trade group price indexes.
  • When the WSPI data are not available, a pass-through adjustment is applied if necessary to the derived trade group price indexes. There were no such adjustments previously.
  • An improved derived price index for the trade group NAICS 4142 - Home Entertainment Equipment and Household Appliance Wholesaler-Distributors.
  • Where appropriate, seasonal adjustment is performed directly on the trade group price index. Previously, it was the deflated sales of each trade group that were seasonally adjusted directly.
  • The base year/reference year has been updated from 2002 to 2007.

Volume of Wholesale Sales for 2004-2006

Above, we described how the volume of wholesale sales at 2007 prices was obtained for the period starting in January 2007. But the MWTS data based on NAICS begin in January 2004. In order to provide an as long as possible time series of the volume of wholesale sales, we also deflated the period 2004-2006.

For the year 2006, we used the selling price indexes from the WSPI program as described above. The WSPI-based price indexes were extended in the past, for the period 2004-2005, using the derived trade group price indexes described earlier, with a base year of 2002. That is, the shares of imports in the wholesale commodity prices was assumed to be equal to that in the total Canadian supply of that commodity in 2002 according to the Input-Output Tables. As well, the proportions of each commodity in the sales of each trade group were obtained from the 2001 Wholesale Trade Commodity Survey by Origin and Destination, as there was no wholesale trade commodity survey in 2002.

The segment at 2002 prices for the years 2004-2006 was then linked to the level of the segment at 2007 prices, by preserving its monthly growth rates.

Le volume des ventes en gros

Introduction

Lors de la diffusion de septembre 2012 des résultats de l’Enquête mensuelle sur le commerce de gros (EMCG) (pour le mois de référence de juillet 2012), une nouvelle méthode de déflation a été mise en œuvre pour les ventes en gros.

Cette nouvelle méthode représente une amélioration par rapport à la précédente, ce qui fait que les résultats ne sont pas rigoureusement comparables à ceux déjà publiés, même si les tendances globales sont similaires. Le tableau 081-0013 de CANSIM comprenant les estimations précédentes a été terminé, et les résultats améliorés se trouvent dans le tableau 081-0015 de CANSIM.

Le présent document vise à donner un aperçu de la méthode améliorée de production des mesures en volume des ventes à partir de l’EMCG, ainsi qu’à souligner les différences par rapport à l’approche précédente.

Objectif de la déflation

Les variations dans la valeur des ventes relevées aux prix courants (c.-à-d. au moment où la vente a eu lieu) dans le cadre de l’EMCG peuvent être attribuables à des variations de prix ou à des variations dans les quantités vendues, ou aux deux. Pour étudier l’activité du secteur du commerce de gros, il est souvent souhaitable de supprimer les variations attribuables aux changements de prix des valeurs aux prix courants, afin d’obtenir un indicateur des variations dans les quantités vendues, c.-à-d. un indicateur du volume des ventes. Ce processus est appelé déflation.

Calcul des indices des prix des ventes en gros

Pour déflater les ventes en gros, on doit utiliser des indices de prix appropriés. Selon la nouvelle méthode de déflation pour les ventes en gros, les principaux indices de prix utilisés sont les indices des prix des ventes obtenus dans le cadre du programme de l’Indice des prix des services du commerce de gros (IPSCG). Ce programme produit des données mensuelles qui sont diffusées sur une base trimestrielle, après un délai d’environ quatre mois. Ainsi, elles ne sont pas disponibles à temps pour déflater les observations les plus récentes des ventes en gros.

Il a donc fallu élaborer des indices de prix pour prolonger ceux fondés sur l’IPSCG pour les mois les plus récents. Les taux de croissance de ces indices de prix dérivés sont utilisés jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient remplacés par ceux fondés sur l’IPSCG, lorsqu’ils deviennent disponibles.

Dans ce qui suit, nous décrivons comment les indices de prix dont l’année de base est 2007 sont calculés pour la déflation des ventes en gros. Nous décrivons d’abord comment les données de l’IPSCG sont utilisées et comment les indices de prix dérivés sont élaborés.

Indices de prix fondés sur l’IPSCG

Des indices des prix de vente mensuels sont obtenus à partir du programme de l’IPSCG, au niveau des classes à cinq chiffres du Système de classification des industries de l’Amérique du Nord (SCIAN). Ces indices des prix de vente sont pondérés afin d’obtenir un indice des prix de vente pour chacune des industries du commerce de gros couvertes par l’EMCG. Ces industries sont appelées groupes de commerce.

Les poids utilisés pour combiner les indices des prix de vente en un indice de prix du groupe de commerce correspondent aux proportions des ventes des classes à cinq chiffres du SCIAN composant chaque groupe de commerce. Ces poids sont obtenus à partir de l’Enquête annuelle sur le commerce de gros (EACG). Ils varient d’une année à l’autre, c.-à-d. que l’on utilise les proportions des ventes de 2007 en 2007, celles de 2008 en 2008, etc. Pour les deux années les plus récentes, on utilise les dernières données annuelles disponibles de l’EACG.

Indices de prix dérivés

Pour prolonger les indices de prix fondés sur l’IPSCG, des indices de prix dérivés pour chaque groupe de commerce ont dû être élaborés en fonction d’hypothèses qui tiennent compte des principaux éléments que l’on croît avoir une influence sur les prix de vente des grossistes. Ces indices de prix dérivés sont fondés sur les prix des marchandises négociées et sur la proportion des fluctuations du taux de change du dollar qui est immédiatement transmise aux clients du groupe de commerce.

a) Principales hypothèses

Les grossistes négocient une partie de l’offre totale d’une marchandise au Canada. L’offre totale représente la somme de la production intérieure et des importations. On obtient un indice des prix de gros pour chaque marchandise négociée en combinant un indice des prix de la production intérieure et un indice des prix des importations.

Les grossistes vendent au pays et sur les marchés d’exportation à des prix qui peuvent différer. On présume toutefois qu’ils établissent leurs prix selon les changements dans les prix des marchandises qu’ils négocient, que ces marchandises soient exportées ou non.

On présume aussi que les variations de prix d’une marchandise sont les mêmes pour l’ensemble des groupes du commerce de gros. Cela signifie qu’une marchandise vendue par divers groupes de commerce n’a qu’un seul indice de prix, mais que le poids de cette marchandise varie selon le groupe de commerce.

b) Prix des marchandises en gros

On obtiendrait un indice des prix de gros pour l’année de base 2007 pour chaque marchandise en combinant un indice des prix de la production intérieure et un indice des prix des importations au moyen d’un poids pour les importations de 2007. Toutefois, étant donné qu’aucune enquête sur les marchandises vendues en gros ne s’est tenue en 2007, les proportions des importations de marchandises ont plutôt été obtenues à partir des données sur l’origine et la destination des marchandises vendues en gros (ODMG) de 2008 recueillies dans le cadre de l’EACG.

La plupart des prix de la production intérieure sont tirés du programme de l’Indice des prix des produits industriels. Pour certains produits agricoles, on utilise les données du programme de l’Indice des prix des produits agricoles. On utilise aussi l’Indice des prix des logiciels commerciaux, ainsi que l’Indice des prix à la consommation pour l’équipement informatique numérique et dispositifs, rajustés pour tenir compte des changements majeurs dans les taxes de vente.

Pour la partie des importations, on utilise les indices des prix des importations à pondération fixe (Laspeyres) sur une base douanière du programme de l’Indice de prix du commerce international.

c) Les indices de prix des groupes de commerce

Les marchandises vendues par chaque groupe de commerce, ainsi que les proportions qu’elles représentent dans les ventes totales du groupe, sont tirées des résultats de l’ODMG de 2008. Ces proportions sont utilisées pour combiner les prix des marchandises en gros en un indice des prix pour les ventes du groupe de commerce. Les indices de prix des groupes de commerce sont des moyennes harmoniques pondérées des indices des prix des marchandises.

Pour quelques groupes de commerce vendant une vaste gamme de marchandises, nous avons inclus uniquement les marchandises représentant au moins 95 % des ventes du groupe, l’exclusion des autres ayant un faible poids n’a à peu près pas d’effet sur l’indice des prix du groupe de commerce.

d) Rajustement pour tenir compte du taux de change du dollar

Nombre des prix des importations utilisés dans le calcul des indices des prix des marchandises en gros rendent entièrement et immédiatement compte des fluctuations du taux de change du dollar. Toutefois, les grossistes n’ajustent pas nécessairement leurs prix immédiatement pour compenser ces fluctuations; généralement, ils modifieront leurs prix pour rendre compte seulement d’une proportion de ces changements, et peut‑être avec un certain délai.

Une comparaison des indices de prix des groupes de commerce et des indices des prix de vente du programme de l’IPSCG a montré que les indices de prix de nombreux groupes de commerce devaient être rajustés pour supprimer un biais découlant du taux de transfert partiel des fluctuations du taux de change du dollar.

Ces rajustements liés aux taux de transfert ont été évalués au moyen d’une régression linéaire entre le ratio de l’indice de prix du groupe de commerce sur l’indice de prix fondé sur l’IPSCG et le taux de change du dollar par rapport à la devise américaine. Les indices de prix des groupes de commerce rajustés constituent les indices de prix dérivés.

e) Exception

Pour un groupe de commerce, le SCIAN 4142 – Grossistes-distributeurs de matériel de divertissement au foyer et d’appareils ménagers, on a déterminé que même l’indice de prix rajusté ne rendait pas compte de façon appropriée de l’indice des prix de vente tiré du programme de l’IPSCG.

Ainsi, pour ce groupe de commerce particulier, l’indice de prix dérivé est plutôt obtenu par une combinaison de deux composantes de l’IPC, rajustées pour tenir compte des changements majeurs dans les taxes de vente. Les deux composantes de l’IPC sont celles pour l’équipement audio et l’équipement vidéo, qui sont combinées en utilisant leurs poids dans l’IPC.

Calcul du volume des ventes en gros

Comme il a été indiqué précédemment, les variations dans la valeur des ventes en gros peuvent être attribuables à des variations dans les prix des marchandises vendues, ou encore dans les quantités vendues, ou aux deux. Grâce à la déflation, on peut obtenir une mesure du volume des ventes pour l’analyse des variations des quantités vendues, en supprimant les effets des changements de prix.

On calcule deux mesures du volume total des ventes en gros. L’une des mesures représente le volume des ventes en prix constants (désaisonnalisé et non désaisonnalisé); l’autre représente le volume des ventes en dollars enchaînés (disponible uniquement sur une base désaisonnalisée).

Volume en prix constants (formule de Laspeyres)

Le volume des ventes en prix constants utilise l’importance relative des prix des produits d’une période précédente, présentement l’année 2007, pour évaluer les variations des quantités vendues. Cette année est appelée année de base. Les valeurs déflatées résultantes sont dites « aux prix de 2007 ». L’utilisation des prix d’une période précédente pour mesurer l’activité de la période courante fournit une mesure représentative du volume courant d’activité par rapport à cette période.

Les indices des prix utilisés pour obtenir le volume des ventes en prix constants sont les indices de prix prolongés, c.-à-d. les indices de prix tirés de l’IPSCG prolongés au moyen des indices de prix dérivés décrits précédemment.

Les ventes nominales (en dollars courants) de chaque groupe de commerce sont divisées par leur indice de prix prolongé respectif, puis le volume total des ventes en prix constants est obtenu en additionnant le volume des ventes des 25 groupes de commerce couverts par l’EMCG.

Les volumes non désaisonnalisés et désaisonnalisés en prix constants sont calculés de façon similaire. Dans le calcul du volume des ventes désaisonnalisé, toutefois, les indices des prix sont, au besoin, désaisonnalisés directement au moyen du programme X‑12‑ARIMA.

Volume en dollars enchaînés (formule de Fisher)

Le volume total des ventes en dollars enchaînés représente la moyenne géométrique de deux évaluations des variations des quantités vendues entre deux mois consécutifs. L’une des évaluations utilise les prix du mois précédent pour évaluer les variations, et l’autre, les prix du mois courant.

Étant donné que les prix des marchandises ont généralement tendance à augmenter, l’évaluation fondée sur les prix du mois précédent a tendance à surestimer les changements dans les quantités, c.-à-d. qu’au fur et à mesure que le prix augmente, les acheteurs ont tendance à acheter davantage d’une marchandise moins chère. Par conséquent, l’utilisation des prix d’une période précédente pour évaluer les quantités achetées pour la période courante peut entraîner une surestimation des variations des quantités.

De même, l’évaluation des variations des quantités vendues au moyen des prix du mois courant aura tendance à sous‑estimer les variations dans les quantités, cette approche accordant davantage de poids aux marchandises à prix plus faibles qu’aux marchandises à prix plus élevés.

Ainsi, la moyenne géométrique des deux évaluations des variations mensuelles des quantités (au moyen des prix du mois précédent et du mois courant) atténue ces sous‑estimations et surestimations. Le volume des ventes en dollars enchaînés rend ainsi compte de l’effet des changements les plus récents des prix sur les variations de volume, étant donné qu’il combine les changements de volume mesurés à la fois par rapport aux prix du mois courant et à ceux du mois précédent.

Le volume total des ventes en dollars enchaînés est calculé sur une base mensuelle, puis les variations mensuelles sont enchaînées (composées) pour produire une série chronologique des variations de volume. La série chronologique est par la suite échelonnée de façon à être égale à la valeur totale des ventes en gros en dollars courants pour l’année 2007.

Comme les seules données mensuelles disponibles sur les prix et les quantités sont les données sur les prix et le volume pour les 25 groupes de commerce couverts par l’EMCG, le volume des ventes en dollars enchaînés est calculé uniquement pour l’ensemble du secteur du commerce de gros.

De même, il n’est produit que sous forme désaisonnalisée, l’enchaînement de variations mensuelles brutes de volume pouvant donner lieu à des fluctuations mensuelles difficiles à interpréter.

Améliorations par rapport à la méthode précédente

La nouvelle méthode de déflation des ventes en gros comporte diverses améliorations par rapport à la précédente. Ces améliorations comprennent les suivantes :

  • L’utilisation des indices des prix de vente en gros observés (lorsqu’ils sont disponibles), plutôt que des indices de prix dérivés des groupes de commerce.
  • Lorsque les données de l’IPSCG ne sont pas disponibles, un rajustement du taux de transfert est appliqué au besoin aux indices de prix dérivés des groupes de commerce. On ne procédait pas à un tel rajustement auparavant.
  • Un indice de prix dérivé amélioré pour le groupe de commerce SCIAN 4142 – Grossistes-distributeurs de matériel de divertissement au foyer et d’appareils ménagers.
  • Au besoin, on procède à une désaisonnalisation directe de l’indice de prix d’un groupe de commerce. Auparavant, ce sont les ventes déflatées de chaque groupe de commerce qui étaient désaisonnalisées directement.
  • L’année de base/de référence est passée de 2002 à 2007.

Volume des ventes en gros pour 2004 à 2006

Ci-dessus, nous avons décrit comment le volume des ventes en gros aux prix de 2007 a été obtenu pour la période commençant en janvier 2007. Toutefois, les données de l’EMCG fondées sur le SCIAN commencent en janvier 2004. Afin de produire la série chronologique la plus longue possible sur le volume des ventes en gros, nous avons aussi déflaté la période de 2004 à 2006.

Pour l’année 2006, nous avons utilisé les indices des prix de vente du programme de l’IPSCG décrit précédemment. Les indices des prix fondés sur l’IPSCG ont été prolongés rétrospectivement, pour la période de 2004 à 2005, au moyen des indices de prix dérivés des groupes de commerce décrits précédemment, avec 2002 comme année de base. C’est à dire que les parts des importations dans les prix des marchandises en gros ont été considérées comme étant égales à celles dans l’offre totale de ces marchandises au Canada en 2002, établies selon les Tableaux d’entrées sorties. Par ailleurs, les proportions de chaque marchandise dans les ventes de chaque groupe de commerce ont été obtenues à partir de l’Enquête sur les marchandises vendues en gros selon l’origine et la destination de 2001, étant donné qu’il n’y a pas eu d’enquête sur les marchandises vendues en gros en 2002.

Le segment aux prix de 2002 pour les années 2004 à 2006 a par la suite été couplé au niveau du segment aux prix de 2007, en préservant ses taux de croissance mensuelle.

Date de modification :